Space Marine Faction Focus Review Part 1 Warhammer 40K 8th Edition


Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments   Other Episodes From Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Coverage   Share  
dfaris1987 (4 days ago): - delete
One thing to note about Guilliman: if you are playing matched play you would have to set aside reinforcement points to bring him back to life.

Per core rules, P 181, "if a model's wounds are reduced to 0, it is either slain or destroyed."

Per matched play rules, P 214, "Sometimes a[n] ... ability will allow you to ... replace units that have been destroyed....you must set aside some of your points to use these units."

zQUINNage (5 days ago): - delete
land speeder movement 6"?

ABF36 (6 days ago): - delete
I agree Steve. All vehicles should be T8 minimum.
+1

Ambush (7 days ago): - delete
You guys have done the review off camera again which is unfortunate!

DanielTMU (7 days ago): - delete
Steve,
Dude! They are Space Marine Intercessor and Inceptor Squads. For the love of God, PLEASE stop saying "incester" as this is a family friendly website and that is the WRONG kind of friendly family.
-5

DanielTMU (7 days ago): - delete
Ironclads are awesome now.

Mandelcore (8 days ago): - delete
Sorry, typo 22 shots (3x4+4 6).

Mandelcore (8 days ago): - delete
@Unpure Scout bikes have the twin bolters on their bikes and can have shotguns, combat knives(+1A in CC) and a storm bolter on the sarge. This gives 24 s4 shots at 12" range for just 3 models that move 16" with 7 CC attacks.

What's not to love in this edition where a 4 save is far superior to what it was in the last edition and 2 Wounds?
+1

hawkeye299 (8 days ago): - delete
@Tali Temlaa/Curt2u All Black Templar stuff is still around, no one has chapter tactics right now, they should be in the full space marine codex when it comes out though.
+1

StandardFiend (8 days ago): - delete
You said Movement 6" for the landspeeders; was that a mistake or are rhinos really twice as fast as them?

Also, and anyone can feel free to correct me if I'm off-base on this, but it feels like in this edition Space Marines are just the best at everything, far and above any other army, with no discernible weaknesses. They have: the strongest basic troops; the highest variety of weapons; the most damaging weapons; the best armour, and the most models that can get a 2+; the fastest vehicles... just everything. And at pretty sweet bargains in terms of both points and power (especially power, where all upgrades are free). That isn't to say that none of the other armies have none of those things, just that SM have all of them. Like, I just started rolling my eyes as Steve was listing off all the things Guilliman does for 350 points. Am I just bellyaching, or is this kind of an unfair playing field for anyone who isn't SM?

KaptainTripps (8 days ago): - delete
Nothing for Salamanders, feel kinda cheated. Should have just kept playing Sigmar and not bothered with this codex
-3

SemperSteel (8 days ago): - delete
Steve, the librarius power Might of Heroes can be cast on more than just HQ models.

Throw it on a dreadnought to give it T8 and an extra attack. That takes most basic troops up to wounding on 6s in combat/shooting. It really prolongs the lifespan of a dread.
+1

Curt2u (8 days ago): - delete
So chapter tactics?...Black templars anywhere? I really want to use my black templars lol
+1

Unpure (8 days ago): - delete
I agree with the scout bikers which is sad. as I love them in 7th they are a core unit in my Raven Guard. hopefully when the full codex drops they be more interesting, same goes for the land speeder storm

Unpure (8 days ago): - delete
you got the scouts concealed position wrong its 9' from the opps deployment zone, not model. which IMO takes alot away from scouts

Sundai (8 days ago): - delete
Great review! When we getting our tau faction focus.
+1

TaliTemlaa (8 days ago): - delete
So I have a question. Do we still get to have Crusader squats?

Harlequins vs White Scars Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 24 Harlequins vs White Scars Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 24
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.3/5.0
Two forces known for their speed go head to head in this 1500 point game of The Relic. Will Quirk's crafty Harlequins be able to keep up with the roaring motors of Mike's White Scars, Or will they be left in the dust?
Harlequins vs Adeptus Ministorum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 23 Harlequins vs Adeptus Ministorum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 23
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
With lightning speed and aggression Quirk's Harlequin forces fly across the board to take on Constantine's Adeptus Ministorum. Can the Harlequins punch through the Adeptus wall of fire or will they feel the burn?
Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 2 Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 2
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Rising Crescendo, Flip Belts, Shuriken Pistols, and more. You know the tools now Quirk talks about how to put them to good use in this Harlequins tactics video.
Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 1 Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 1
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Lets talk Harlequins. Quirk goes through the Harlequins units, war gear, and special rules to give you a better idea of what to expect from them in Warhammer 8th Edition.
NEW Tyranids vs Ad Mech Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report NEW Tyranids vs Ad Mech Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
2000 points matched play. Matthew and Constantin show off 8th edition 40k in all its glory in this game of Tyranids monsters, psykers, and swarms charging head long into a sturdy Ad Mech gun line.
What We Love and Dont Love about Warhammer 40k 8th Edition What We Love and Don't Love about Warhammer 40k 8th Edition
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.9/5.0
Now that we've played a lot of 8th edition 40k games, I want to talk about what we all love and what we all don't love about it.
NEW Genestealer Cult vs Astra Militarum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 22 NEW Genestealer Cult vs Astra Militarum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 22
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.4/5.0
1750 points matched play. Who can be the better Imperial Guard? The actual Imperial Guard, played by Mike, or the pretend Genestealer Cult Imperial Guard, played by Matthew?
NEW Genestealer Cult vs Harlequins Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 21 NEW Genestealer Cult vs Harlequins Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 21
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
1500 points matched play. Matthew tries out the Genestealer Cult for the first time, playing against Quirk's fast moving, hard hitting, and hard to hit Harlequin army.

View more episodes from Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Coverage

About this Content
MiniWarGaming's Avatar Author: MiniWarGaming
Added: June 15, 2017
Rated: 12345 (7)

Steve goes through the Space Marines index, reviewing many of the Space Marines units.

Found in:
More From...
Tyranids vs Astra Militarum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Tyranids vs Astra Militarum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report
by MiniWarGaming
1500 points matched play. Matthew and Tim play a LONG game of Warhammer 40k with the Tyranids charging into a large gun line of infantry and tanks.
The Movement Phase - How to Play Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Ep 2 The Movement Phase - How to Play Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Ep 2
by MiniWarGaming
In this episode we will learn all about the Movement phase, including Advancing, Falling Back, the Fly keyword, and more.
Quick Tip: Poxwalker (tentacles) Quick Tip: Poxwalker (tentacles)
by MiniWarGaming
In this video Kris shows us how he painted the tentacles of the Poxwalker from the new Dark Imperium boxset.
Quick Tip: Poxwalker (flesh alt) Quick Tip: Poxwalker (flesh alt)
by MiniWarGaming
In this Quick Tip Kris demonstrates an alternate method for painting the flesh of the Poxwalkers from the new Dark Imperium boxset.
Looking for Volunteers to Help Us Find Rules Errors Looking for Volunteers to Help Us Find Rules Errors
by MiniWarGaming
We need volunteers to help us find rules errors in our How to Play 40k series.