Khador vs Legion Warmachine Battle Report - Beat Matt Batrep - Game 1 - Part 2/2

Sorry, this content is no longer available

Khador vs Legion Warmachine Battle Report - Beat Matt Batrep - Game 1 - Part 1/2

Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments   Share  

Top Comments

redkeyboard (Over a year ago): - delete
That was tims fault tbh. he left his caster exposed. Always screen your caster,

silentdante (Over a year ago): - delete
i'm not sure why this hapens in a lot of warmachine games but i see it often, you cannot see thorugh your own models when shooting, so the first shot mat takes, the two guys in the back are blocked by the models in front of them (the way it looks on camera) and would not have been able to combine shooting. this is a big deal only because there are units in the game that come with a special rule that allowes ranked attacks or attacking through your own intervening models.

the second attack from the look that the camera gives it seems like only 2 models could actualy have seen her because of intervening models and the seren or whatever the winged thing is called.

still a good game and it wasn't a tournament, but i just hate that people play a lot ignoring that rule because it then incalidates the models who have a special rule to them that actualy allows them to shoot through their own unit. (see horgenholde and hamerfall units in mercenaries for example)

Other Comments

silentdante (Over a year ago): - delete
i will issue an apology to matt, after purchasing the lifetime vault membership, and watching the game wrapup in the vault they show camera angles and talk about which models had line of sight drawn and it mmade it more apparent which had LOS.

so, sorry, probly over reacted a little cause thats my only rule pet peeve in warmachine that seems to get overlooked.

stickyworm (Over a year ago): - delete
"even in a CRA you cannot see through your own models unless they have the rank attack rule"

This is the part that is not quite right. Seeing a model in Warmachine is a function of the size of the target, to the intervening model and has nothing to do with the size of the shooting model. Like you, I have seen this done badly in games, like when a jack attacks a small model over another one and people think it should be able too because the jack is taller. It just doesn't work that way.

Sorry for the quantity of comments here I think we're actually in agreement.

silentdante (Over a year ago): - delete
@stickyworm: that person responded tp me first and even says e assumes i was talking about the warbeast, when in my origional post i say her and talk about the two shots made at a smaller base model. sure i didn't point out caster and i said sorry to brush4hire for responding to him when he was talking about the warbeast in his post and i responded with saying he had it wrong but then actually explained it the same way as him in my post, so i never gave out wrong information if you actually read, just got the targets mixed up because i never said in the origional post who i meant by name.

thanks though. i'll make sure to pay more attention when posting about who i mean. great to be a part of such a nice community.

stickyworm (Over a year ago): - delete
You responded to someone referring to shooting the heavy warbeast, and now you're referring to the caster? I was also referring to the heavy, and your first post sounded like you were talking about the heavy.

As for shooting the caster, I'll let Matt decide how many models had LOS, since the camera doesn't give enough perspective to judge accurately without being there.

silentdante (Over a year ago): - delete
so sorry to brush4hire he is refering to the heavy warbeast when yes you could see that because the WG small base would not block seeing a large base. what i was refering to is how he wins the game with the CRA's aimed at the same size base caster.

silentdante (Over a year ago): - delete
@stickyworm: actuly you are wrong, because iam refering to when he had both winterguard units fire at the legion CASTER and you cannot see through your own models if they block line of site. when you check LOS you must be able to draw a line from a part of your own base to the target that does not cross an intervening models base, and for what looked like by the angle of the video he had blocked some of his own models LOS. if he had shot at the flying beats then fine he could see but he was shooting at a small base caster (same base size as the WG) compared to the warbeast to win the game. so he actualy does block his own LOS to the caster nd so does the bigger base warbeast.

actually i never say a bigger base can hide behind a smaller base, so i don't know where you get that from.

stickyworm (Over a year ago): - delete
Sorry but you're in fact incorrect. A small base model can hide behind a small base model because of its size. A large base model cannot hide behind a small base model. So in this case, a small base model can see over a small base model to see the large base model because it's so big it cannot hide.

@Matt, just an idea, but the winterguard would realy benefit from kovnik Joe. Seriously crazy, then with sprays and extra dice, you would ignore all that cover that was spammed all over that board. Curiously you can shoot your own guy in the back and hit someone on the other side of a building with it too.

silentdante (Over a year ago): - delete
@Brush4Hire: it works in the oposite way you are speaking, a bigger base blocks line of sight to a same size or smaller base. but what i am talking about it his own WG models blocking LOS from other ones in the same unit. even in a CRA you cannot see through your own models unless they have the rank attack rule (like the hammerfell shieldgunners i mentioned)

like i said it's not a big deal it's just one of those pet peeves i have because most people seem to forget that. as a mercenaries player it makes me having the special rule kind of moot if everyone does it anyways as a mistake.

Brush4Hire (Over a year ago): - delete
@silentdante: If I am seeing the same attack that you are it is when the WG uses a CRA on one of the legion heavies. In this case if I am correct, even if they were shoulder to shoulder they can see because the heavy is a larger base size than they are. Small base can see over small base when targeting a model on a medium or large base. Now you must note that it is not the case in reverse. A large base trying to target a small behind a small cannot see it. Kinda weird, but I'm pretty sure that's how it goes.

I did notice one error though. Iron Flesh cannot go on a Jack. It targets "warrior" models which a jack is not.

Ganso (Over a year ago): - delete
Hi Mat, great Bat Rep! Just wanted to let you know that when you replacing the Field Gun leader with the Grunt was in fact the correct move. And here is the reference.

On page 72 of the main rulebook (Prime Mk2) there's a parragraph titled Weapon Crews where it says that unlike other units, if the Leader of a weapon crew leaves play then it replaces a Grunt only if the Grunt is withing 1 inch of the leader.

Also, in the same paragraph, it says that even though the Leader is on a large base, it is treated as having the same size base as the Grunts in the unit. So you can effectively screen your Field Gun and Mortar with small base infantry.

Phury (Over a year ago): - delete
Good batrep. Saeryn was really out in the open for the assassination and gun lines are her weakness. I would have like to see a blight bringer go off on a group of the winter guard. Well played both of you.

RoberttheWise (Over a year ago): - delete
I just checked the rulebooks as I thought, the field gun would have the "pickup" rule, that some UA's or WA's have but it doesn't. However I am still quite sure, that it is allowed to replace the grunt with the field gun when the gun goes down. As you said, Matt, it isn't an officer, just a normal leader except is has diferent sized base and different weapon. If you look into the officers, you will allways find the "tactical tips" box with explicit clarification, that you can't replace a grunt with him. Such a box is missing by all light artilery, I checked. So I conclude, that normal rules for unit leader apply, just as Matt did.

bluedynamo (Over a year ago): - delete
Ok...I don't play Warmachine, but that ending was pretty damn cool!

About this Content
MiniWarGaming's Avatar Author: MiniWarGaming
Added: June 22, 2012
Rated: 12345 (5)

And it continues...

Found in:
More From...
Warriors of Chaos vs Ogre Kingdoms Warhammer Fantasy Battle Report - Old World Wars Ep 294 Warriors of Chaos vs Ogre Kingdoms Warhammer Fantasy Battle Report - Old World Wars Ep 294
by MiniWarGaming
While the Ogre Kingdoms are dealing with Grimgor's WAAAAAAAGH!!!! They are also struggling with a newly beached Warriors of Chaos legion that has been assaulting nearby hunting grounds as well as Ogre homes. Luka and Josh play a 2500 point game with...
Orcs and Goblins vs Ogre Kingdoms Warhammer Fantasy Battle Report - Old World Wars Ep 293 Orcs and Goblins vs Ogre Kingdoms Warhammer Fantasy Battle Report - Old World Wars Ep 293
by MiniWarGaming
Grimgor Ironhide is leading his newly started WAAAAAAGH!!!! on a rampage through the Mountains of Mourn to bring the Ogre Kingdoms in line, and to show his true might. The Ogres are ever stubborn though. Josh and Luka play a 2500 point game with the...
10,000 Points Apocalypse Chaos Daemons vs Tyranids - Warhammer 40k Battle Report 10,000 Points Apocalypse Chaos Daemons vs Tyranids - Warhammer 40k Battle Report
by MiniWarGaming
The Changer of Paths has laid waste to the Imperium world of Nightfall, bringing to fruition centuries of manipulations and cunning planning. However, even this mighty Lord of Change could not account for the extra-galactic threat of the Tyranid Hive F...
Quick Tip: Rotigus (staff) Quick Tip: Rotigus (staff)
by MiniWarGaming
In this Quick Tip Kris shows us how he painted the Staff of Rotigus the new Great Unclean One.
MiniWarGamer Matthew Interviews James Hewitt MiniWarGamer Matthew Interviews James Hewitt
by MiniWarGaming
James Hewitt, writer of the new Necromunda rules, sits down with Matthew and discusses his past experience with rules writing, and his current business which does freelance rules writing and consulting.