Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review - Overview of the Phases


Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments   Other Episodes From Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Coverage   Share  

Top Comments

SemperSteel (6 weeks ago): - delete
"Binge watch it all". WELL IF YOU INSIST MATT.
+32

DanielTMU (6 weeks ago): - delete
Matt,
@43:16: Rending Claws are AP-1 and one of the Marines rolled a 3 instead of a 4 so three Marines should have died, not two of them.
+10

xsquidz (6 weeks ago): - delete
For shooting characters, you can shoot them if they have 10 or more wounds, so the hive tyrant can always be targeted.
+6

MysticJackal (6 weeks ago): - delete
Great video. It comes across as advice from an old friend trying to help me out, which I really appreciate.
+4

findslo (6 weeks ago): - delete
@SemperSteel

According to the first Warhammer TV video done yesterday, the flamer is out of range and can not fire overwatch.
+3

Other Comments

snydly666 (6 weeks ago): - delete
Quirks never going to use transports again!!!!

darkninja107 (6 weeks ago): - delete
Turboboost replaces the dice roll, not adds on to it. So you automatically add 6" to the move when you advance with bikes.
+1

JMRecoil (6 weeks ago): - delete
Thanks Matt, ill be watching all the vids on 8th. Excited for the new edition.
+1

mala23 (6 weeks ago): - delete
I am so looking forward to holding that box in my hands. Also to finally learn how to properly play 40K with that promised 8th Ed How To vid.

I never fully learned the rules for 7th since I got back to the hobby earlier this year. I expect that How To to be the perfect thing to get me back into the game. It will be intuitive, easy to follow and a lot of fun, as are all of your videos. Thanks for doing all of this guys, you're great!

Dibz (6 weeks ago): - delete
Fantastic video Matt, really great run down of the new phases and great highlights of the nuances and restrictions
+1

Mingo (6 weeks ago): - delete
I really enjoyed your "Learn to Play" videos as I was getting back into the game last year. I referred many fellow players to them as well. I am hoping we'll see some new ones soon.
+1

acidhedz (6 weeks ago): - delete
Even though I don't play, as a fan of the game via you guys (and tabletoptactics) , I'm digging the new rules.

As amusing as some of the dangerous terrain deaths could be ("LOOK AT ME IN MY SUPER SCI FI ARMOR! Oh, no! I tripped over and now I'm dead..." it really didn't make much sense. I hope they have rules for designating certain terrain as dangerous though.

A lot of the vehicle stuff was pretty silly too. I mean, the whole point of a transport vehicle is to get troops closer to the enemy, and attacking ASAP. Why would getting out slow them down so much they couldn't do anything?

Overall, it looks like they got rid of some of the more nonsensical rules. Looking forward to the new batreps!

jackal1994 (6 weeks ago): - delete
end of an era not sure about this :{ !!!

whitestagg (6 weeks ago): - delete
...Was it the old slogan all of a sudden?

MasonOfSkulls (6 weeks ago): - delete
Fudging the roll on that psychic test? For shame Matt, for shame. *shake head*

williamcaw (6 weeks ago): - delete
fight phase the age of conga lines.

DanielTMU (6 weeks ago): - delete
Matt,
Can you please do a video showing the complexities of a unit armed with Pistols embarked in an Open Topped Transport in regards to Charging, getting Charged, and being in Combat, Maybe Scouts in a Land Speeder Storm or some Dark Eldar unit with Pistols. Maybe get Steve in on it since it'll be a thing for his Batreps. I think the community and I know myself personally would benefit from your particular format of education.
Thanks,
Dan
VMFL
+1

skipgiblets (6 weeks ago): - delete
That explanation of piling in was great. Thanks!
+1

MiniWarGaming (6 weeks ago): - delete
@SemperSteel - I would say no, as they are not in range of the weapon.
+1

SemperSteel (6 weeks ago): - delete
Matt, I was wondering if in a future video you could address a question of mine regarding overwatch.

I've browsed the rulebook, and didn't notice anything like wall of death. Overwatch just says that you "make a shooting attack like normal".

So if a unit charges from 9 inches away, does an 8 inch range flamer get to overwatch? What about 6 inch range pistols like the Harlequin fusion pistols?
+1

Space Marines vs Adeptus Mechanicus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 26 Space Marines vs Adeptus Mechanicus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 26
by MiniWarGaming | rated 3.6/5.0
Josh is back again with the forces of the Machine God to challenge Mike and the Adeptus Astartes.
Chaos Space Marines vs Adeptus Mechanicus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 25 Chaos Space Marines vs Adeptus Mechanicus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 25
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.6/5.0
Josh brings his Adeptus Mechanicus forces to square off against Kyle and Chaos Space Marines. Will superior firepower prevail over the forces of Chaos?
Adeptus Mechanicus Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 2 Adeptus Mechanicus Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 2
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Josh and Cullen continue talking about the soldiers of the Omnissiah and go over some of their favorite synergies in the faction.
Adeptus Mechanicus Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 1 Adeptus Mechanicus Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 1
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Time to talk Ad Mech. Josh and Cullen sit down and do a basic overview of the entire Ad Mech faction.
Harlequins vs White Scars Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 24 Harlequins vs White Scars Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 24
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.5/5.0
Two forces known for their speed go head to head in this 1500 point game of The Relic. Will Quirk's crafty Harlequins be able to keep up with the roaring motors of Mike's White Scars, Or will they be left in the dust?
Harlequins vs Adeptus Ministorum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 23 Harlequins vs Adeptus Ministorum Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 23
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
With lightning speed and aggression Quirk's Harlequin forces fly across the board to take on Constantine's Adeptus Ministorum. Can the Harlequins punch through the Adeptus wall of fire or will they feel the burn?
Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 2 Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 2
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Rising Crescendo, Flip Belts, Shuriken Pistols, and more. You know the tools now Quirk talks about how to put them to good use in this Harlequins tactics video.
Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 1 Harlequin Faction Focus Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Review Part 1
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Lets talk Harlequins. Quirk goes through the Harlequins units, war gear, and special rules to give you a better idea of what to expect from them in Warhammer 8th Edition.

View more episodes from Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Coverage

About this Content
MiniWarGaming's Avatar Author: MiniWarGaming
Added: June 3, 2017
Rated: 12345 (29)

The new 8th edition Warhammer 40k is here! Matthew goes through and shows how each of the phases work and how they are different from 7th edition.

Found in:
More From...
What Should Go On Our T-shirts? What Should Go On Our T-shirts?
by MiniWarGaming
I'm looking for new ideas to put on our MiniWarGaming swag, whether catch phrases or imagery. Any ideas?
Tau vs Tau Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 10 Tau vs Tau Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 10
by MiniWarGaming
It's a Tau on Tau mirror match! Tune in to find out whos Commanders are better then their slightly different blue counter part.
Black Templar vs Tau Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 9 Black Templar vs Tau Warhammer 40k 8th Edition Battle Report Ep 9
by MiniWarGaming
Matt challenges Cullen with his close combat Black Templars against to see if the Tau can deal with marines in their face.
Quick Tip: Diagnose Airbrush Problems Quick Tip: Diagnose Airbrush Problems
by MiniWarGaming
In this video Kris talks about possible problem areas in an airbrush.
Open Vault July 20th 2017 Open Vault July 20th 2017
by MiniWarGaming
Quirk grabs his camera and starts walking around the office to see what people are up to and what they've been working on the past few weeks! Look forward to new campaign, new armies, and potentially new games all covered in this video.