Page 6 of 9

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 7:51 pm
by Bigbul
I'd like to search to see if the question was answered, but it would take me forever. So I'll just ask it!

If a model/unit that has reach is within melee range of their target, but the target doesn't have reach and isn't in melee with them, do they still claim a bonus to DEF when they're the target of a ranged attack?

Scenario:

A unit of Man-o-War Shock Troopers are engaged are within two inches of an enemy Warp Wolf, a nearby unit of Grey Lord Ternions are targeting the Warbeast with their ice cage ability. Does the Warp Wolf claim the bonus, and if so will the targets be randomized if it misses?

Thank you!

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 8:55 pm
by Mattman154
Bigbul wrote:I'd like to search to see if the question was answered, but it would take me forever. So I'll just ask it!

If a model/unit that has reach is within melee range of their target, but the target doesn't have reach and isn't in melee with them, do they still claim a bonus to DEF when they're the target of a ranged attack?
Page 51, upper left paragraph.
"When a model is within an enemy model's melee range and in that model's line of sight, it is engaged in combat and primarily concerned with fighting its nearest threat. When a model has an enemy model in its melee range and line of sight, it is engaging that model. When a model is either engaged or engaging, it is in melee, which prevents it from making ranged attacks"

Page 58, Targeting a Model in Melee
"In addition to any other attack modifiers, a ranged attack roll against a target in melee suffers a -4 penalty."

So yes, there will be a -4 penalty to the shots.

However an example of where being engaged and what not is interesting, is when you are trying to channel a spell. An arc node cannot channel only if it is being engaged by the enemy. The arc node can be completely behind the enemy models back arc and be in melee, but not engaged by the enemy model, so it can channel.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:15 am
by Craaag
As for the 2 handed throw question coming up short on a target. Not sure if this was answered yet?

pg55 Double handed throw.

"If the other model is in range the attacker makes a melee attack roll against it. If it is outside of range, resolve the throw using the rules in being thrown as if the model were being thrown directly towards the other model."

Determine Deviation from the point along the line equal to the throw distance. (half STR +1" for small based models) pg55 also

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:31 am
by Craaag
sicarius777 wrote:TY mattman i just read the ability boundless charge and i see where it says { when it charges} my friend has the khador starter box and he moved 6 then cast boundless charge the attacked me but now i see that, that was a illegal move but i assume that u can cast a RNG 6 spell on yourself as long as it dosent say OFF Yes?

There is a spell that allows Sorscha to make an advance (Wind Rush). Not sure on the actual distance she can move with this spell, her speed I believe is 6, so 6". She can cast this first before charging, which it sounds like your opponent did and then she can cast Boundless charge which gives a movement bonus to her charge distance. She can then charge getting an obscene threat range off with these 2 spells (19" I think?), though in all likelihood that tactic will leave her with very little Focus left over for assassination.

Sounds like a legal move he made.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:36 am
by connorshaw-case
I know this is a dumb question but I have to ask it. Can you boost to hit rolls on a magical range attacked as I have bought the starter set and kreoss has two damage spells that rip apart poor madrak (I bought he troll starter set and some more models for another 20 point army). I mean it makes sense he should be able to boost the to hit but every time I play now my freeing just runs kreoss up and smack madraks tits around.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2012 12:22 pm
by ltmechanicus
Your warcaster/warlock can boost his/her spells to-hit and damage rolls(which are different from magic ranged attacks).

You can also boost your warcaster's magic ranged attacks to-hit and damage rolls. (These would be attacks from a ranged weapon with the magical weapon quality.)

Spells (magic attack) use FOCUS to-hit, magic ranged attacks us RAT. There are many possible subtle differences in the way that these two types of attacks interact with model rules.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 5:05 am
by Ferngully
Hi there!

Just got in the Warmachine with Menoth army and really liking the game.

But anyways, I don't quite get my head around models facing?
Does it effect game any other ways than showing front/back arc of the model
and models can hit only to their front arc?

Thanks anyways.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:51 am
by Flindo
Ferngully wrote:Hi there!

Just got in the Warmachine with Menoth army and really liking the game.

But anyways, I don't quite get my head around models facing?
Does it effect game any other ways than showing front/back arc of the model
and models can hit only to their front arc?

Thanks anyways.
well its a little more complex than that but yes, lets say someone is behind you in real life, how well are you going to be able to attack that guy?

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:55 am
by Ferngully
So facing doesn't affect anything about charging directions, running etc?
You can face you're model before charging and so on?

just wondering because I have a feeling I have watched a batrep where matt says that he doesn't need to worry charge because they are facing other way, but that could be me just hearing things.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:14 am
by mmchugh
A model only has LOS of models in it's front arc.

You need LOS to attack a model, or to declare it as your charge target. Declaring your charge target must happen before you start moving, so you wouldn't be able to charge that started in your back arc.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:20 am
by RedDragon924
Facing does affect a few things.

- You can only target models in your front arc. This includes targeting somebody for a charge, so you can only charge something in your front arc.

- rules like a warjack/beast's shield or buckler weapon that gives them a ARM boost only works in their front arc. Shield wall orders also work this way.

- If an enemy was in your back arc for their whole activation and stays in it, they get a +2 to their attack rolls against that model.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:31 am
by Craaag
No you can't turn your model before charging. That's why a model's front arc and LOS is really important. You charge in a straight line towards the charge target and then after the move turn the model to directly face the target.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:41 pm
by Bigfi
Can you thresher after making a charge move? If you could post the page it's on that would be helpful.

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:56 pm
by baummonster
Yes you can, because Thresher counts as a weapon-specific special attack, not as a power attack or anything. Warmachine MK2 BRB, p36 right paragraph and p47 bottom left

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 3:30 pm
by Bigfi
Thanks!