Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Talk about Privateer Press steam-powered fantasy game here.
Locked
Craaag
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 948
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:54 pm
Ribbons Earned: Completed a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Location: Welland

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Craaag » Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:21 pm

No as that would be a combat action. Even though you normally can use Focus to make an extra attack you can't make any attacks at all as you had to forfeit your whole action to activate the jack.

You could still cast a spell though and spend focus that way.

potato32
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:28 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by potato32 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:01 am

Question! To charge a model, does one only need line of sight, or must the charge movement also be in your front ark?

User avatar
m14
Mighty Manufactorium of MiniWarGaming Posts
Posts: 2094
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 4:37 pm
Ribbons Earned: Awarded the Awesome Medal of Awesomeness!
Location: Leesburg, VA About 36 miles west of Washington

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by m14 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 1:30 am

Both, as to be able to see the target, it must be in the front arc.

User avatar
Tyranid96
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:26 am
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting Pledges

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Tyranid96 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:27 am

How many warlocks/warcasters may you have per army
Blood Angels: Angels Sanguine 10,000pts +
Tyranids: Hive Fleet Andromedous- 3.5k+
Orks: 2500 pts
Grey Knights: 1750+
IG: 1500+


Cygnar:224
Legion: 70
Retribution: 75

Craaag
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 948
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:54 pm
Ribbons Earned: Completed a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Location: Welland

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Craaag » Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:45 am

Games up to 75 pts are normally 1 warcaster. At 100 pts there are 2 different types where you can use 1 or 2 Warcasters (Grand melee or battle Royale). At 150 to 200 pts it is called War and you could field 3 warcasters.

Normally though just 1 Warcaster as you would rarely play games higher than 50 pts.

User avatar
Tyranid96
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 7:26 am
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting Pledges

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Tyranid96 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:10 am

Craaag wrote:Games up to 75 pts are normally 1 warcaster. At 100 pts there are 2 different types where you can use 1 or 2 Warcasters (Grand melee or battle Royale). At 150 to 200 pts it is called War and you could field 3 warcasters.

Normally though just 1 Warcaster as you would rarely play games higher than 50 pts.
Would I be allowed to use multiple warcasters/warlocks in under 25
Blood Angels: Angels Sanguine 10,000pts +
Tyranids: Hive Fleet Andromedous- 3.5k+
Orks: 2500 pts
Grey Knights: 1750+
IG: 1500+


Cygnar:224
Legion: 70
Retribution: 75

gobbo7603
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:09 am
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by gobbo7603 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:11 pm

Not in a standard game.

You might do if you want to run a special scenario or in a game with friends.

If you check out the youtube channel SteampoweredTV there are battlereports on there with multiple casters at smaller point games.

User avatar
ArqArturo
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:25 pm
Location: Hermosillo Sonora, Mexico

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by ArqArturo » Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:09 am

Since the Avatar of Menoth gains d3+1 focus points, does this mean he can have 4 focus points in a given turn, or is it shaved down to three?.
“In fighting and in everyday life you should be determined though calm. Meet the situation without tenseness yet not recklessly, your spirit settled yet unbiased...” Miyamoto Musashi

User avatar
Mattman154
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4010
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:47 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Mattman154 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:25 am

He can have 4. You can only be ALLOCATED 3 focus per turn. You can still acquire them from another source as long as they don't use the term allocate.

Craaag
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 948
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:54 pm
Ribbons Earned: Completed a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Location: Welland

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Craaag » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:43 am

Difference is that Avatar is not allocated Focus as it's not part of a Battlegroup.

The other exception to that is Wajack bonds. Bonded warjacks can have 4 Focus.

An important note about this too since it's a good question.

If a warjack gains extra Focus from another source (souls,storm accumulator, etc) it still cannot be allocated more than 3 total.

So if the Deathjack had 3 souls from a previous turn they would change into Focus at the beginning of the maintenance phase and because it has 3 Focus it couldn't be allocated anything by it's controlling warcaster. It does gain the 2 extra focus from the skulls of hate though as these are gained after Focus allocation as stated on it's card.

User avatar
Cryage
MiniWarGaming Regular
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:09 am

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Cryage » Wed May 02, 2012 8:50 pm

Quick question guys, If I wedge a vassal mechanik or a vassal of menoth between 2 warjacks, its b2b with both, does it grant "Iron Sentinel" to both or just one that I have to choose?

RedDragon924
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 9:09 pm
Location: Fort Erie, Ontario

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by RedDragon924 » Wed May 02, 2012 9:02 pm

It's the model with iron sentinel that gets the bonus, not any jacks it's b2b with, Cryage.

User avatar
Cryage
MiniWarGaming Regular
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:09 am

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Cryage » Wed May 02, 2012 9:12 pm

RedDragon924 wrote:It's the model with iron sentinel that gets the bonus, not any jacks it's b2b with, Cryage.
Damn you're right! That's too bad , totally misread that. Thanks for the clarification and curing my illiteracy, one step at a time ;)

User avatar
Mattman154
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4010
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:47 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Mattman154 » Wed May 02, 2012 9:42 pm

That's why whenever a rules question pops up, the first question to be asked is "What does the ability say?"

User avatar
Menothftw
MiniWarGaming Beginner
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:03 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Menothftw » Sat May 05, 2012 1:33 am

Can a model use a special attack and make a normal attack also?

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest