Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Talk about Privateer Press steam-powered fantasy game here.
Locked
User avatar
ArqArturo
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
Posts: 1308
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 10:25 pm
Location: Hermosillo Sonora, Mexico

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by ArqArturo » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:59 am

gobbo7603 wrote:
ArqArturo wrote:Can a model/unit with Backswing make a second attack after a charge?.
Yes.
*Evil laughter* Thank you :).
“In fighting and in everyday life you should be determined though calm. Meet the situation without tenseness yet not recklessly, your spirit settled yet unbiased...” Miyamoto Musashi

Mechnomancer
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:23 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Mechnomancer » Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:10 pm

Just remember that if you choose to backswing, you must make that second attack. If the enemy is dead and an ally is in range, you have to swing on it. Each model decides wether or not to backswing before they start attacking, so watch you positioning and the enemy's health.

User avatar
baummonster
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by baummonster » Sun Oct 20, 2013 1:59 pm

Another thing to keep in mind is that the second attack won't have the boosted damage anymore, since it's no longer considered a charge attack
Honor I do not seek, but a worthy death must be earned

drsergen
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
Posts: 1716
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:03 pm
Ribbons Earned: Won a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Location: Pickering, Oshawa, Toronto Ontario

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by drsergen » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:34 pm

help. khador ? dur :S
twitter: @drsergenpaintin instagram: drsergenpainting facebook: Drsergenpainting

User avatar
baummonster
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 10:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by baummonster » Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:50 pm

pButcher!

No idea what you're actually asking about, but I suppose you can solve most problem using his use-axe-with-face approach :p
Honor I do not seek, but a worthy death must be earned

SobieFett
MiniWarGaming Regular
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by SobieFett » Wed Jun 10, 2015 12:27 pm

I'm about to play a local tourney and have a steamroller rule question.

The tourney is 35 pts and we have the specialist rules in effect.

My primary list is:

Kaelyssa Force Wall tier 4
Phoenix
Manticore
Manticore
HS Artificer
3 x Free arcanist
arcanist
HS Magister
2 x HS Battle Mages

Specialist:
Aspis
HS Magister

According the the rules, at 35 pts I have a limit of 10 points for my specialists.
Here is where my question comes in: (Scroll Down For Rules)

Since my specialist consists of a Myrm which grants me a free arcanist, I essentially get to trade out 6 points for 5 or am I cheating / wrong. (keep in mind the tourney has not happened yet). My tier requirements are:

Tier 1 - Consist of HS models and non char myrms
Tier 2 - Have 1 x HS Battle Mage Unit
Tier 3 - Have HS Artificer
Tier 4 - Have two heavies - Grants free arcanist for each Myrm in the army.

The trick is in the arcanist: he is paid for in one, and is free in the other so he is technically present in both.

Specialists must follow the restrictions of any Theme Force
to which they are added. A Theme Force’s established
tier level cannot be lowered via substitutions and will not
be increased as a result of substitutions even if higher tier
requirements are met. The models and units that satisfy the
army list’s established tier requirements must be identified,
and they can be replaced only with specialist models that
fulfill the same tier requirement. Specialist models benefit
from all point cost reductions and FA exceptions during list
construction and from all in-game bonuses when substituted
into a list. Free models granted by a Theme Force bonus
cannot be substituted for specialist models
. All relationships
determined by the player (attached, marshaled, etc.) must be
clearly identified for specialist models and units.

RedDragon924
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 9:09 pm
Location: Fort Erie, Ontario

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by RedDragon924 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 5:06 pm

If you make any substitutions that would affect the number of free arcanists you get from the tier 4 bonus, then they are adjusted accordingly. Think of it like taking steps. You adjust the list with specialists first, then put in however many free arcanists you get. Let's take your base list for example:

1. I decide to switch out the phoenix with an Arcantrik force Generator, still keeping tier 4.
2. The number of mrymidons in the list is now 2, so I'd get 2 free arcanists instead of the original list's 3.

Another example:

1. this time, I switch the phoenix, 1 battle mage unit, and the arcanist for 4 griffons. This still keeps tier 4.
2. The number of myrmidons is now 6, meaning the list gets 6 free arcanists instead of just 3.

wyldhorse
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by wyldhorse » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:09 pm

First time playing against Karchev and the last line in his feat has me confused. The first part I get.

At the start of their activations, affected models can turn to face any direction before their normal movement.

What good is this? What prevents you from turning in place?

Thanks

Catulle
Now we're getting somewhere...
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:23 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by Catulle » Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:03 am

wyldhorse wrote:First time playing against Karchev and the last line in his feat has me confused. The first part I get.

At the start of their activations, affected models can turn to face any direction before their normal movement.

What good is this? What prevents you from turning in place?

Thanks
The immediate thing that comes to mind is charging; you can't charge anything that's not in your front arc, so the chance to spin in place before movement is a counter to stuff like Telekinesis shenanigans (see Rahn, Thexus, etc.)

Secondarily, if you end up forfeiting movement, you wouldn't get to turn. For example, getting knocked down and engaged at the same time, the Feat will give you some flexibility in terms of what targets you get to swing at.

wyldhorse
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by wyldhorse » Thu Mar 10, 2016 6:32 pm

ah ok. Missed the forfeit movement. Thanks much.

User avatar
DeltaCommando17
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 840
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:53 am
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Location: On some planet waging a WAAAGH!!!

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by DeltaCommando17 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:57 pm

Quick question in regard to Sustained Attack. Now I'm not familiar with how it was worded back in MK2, but the way it is worded now has me wondering.

Are the automatic hits activated for the weapon that you already hit your target with strictly during that turn? Or does the automatic hits for using that weapon against the same target carry on to further turns so long as you're targeting the same target with said weapon in the same combat? :?
Currently playing:

Warmachine: Mercenaries army

Bolt Action: British & Commonwealth Forces

RedDragon924
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 9:09 pm
Location: Fort Erie, Ontario

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by RedDragon924 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:10 pm

It's only during the model's activation, so only the turn. You'll have to do an attack roll and hit in the model's next activation.

User avatar
DeltaCommando17
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 840
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 11:53 am
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Location: On some planet waging a WAAAGH!!!

Re: Got Rules Questions? Ask 'Em Here WM/H Edition!

Post by DeltaCommando17 » Mon Sep 12, 2016 11:23 pm

RedDragon924 wrote:It's only during the model's activation, so only the turn. You'll have to do an attack roll and hit in the model's next activation.
Ah ok, thank you! :)

Admittedly, I'm kinda glad about this. It makes my friend's Decimator a little less terrifying.
Currently playing:

Warmachine: Mercenaries army

Bolt Action: British & Commonwealth Forces

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest