It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:20 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:14 pm
Posts: 338
Does the master of ordinance have to use his orbital bombardment on the same target the CCS shoots at?

_________________
In the event that you may not know if your target is down - Double Tap Em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:27 am 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:27 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Deseronto, On, Canada
Ribbons Earned: Completed a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
after reading the 'dex, I do believe so, did you check the FAQ?

_________________
I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees

"(Lebianism) is rather inefficient... there appear to be interface problems"
- Engelbart Kappa


Kidnapping? I call it surprise adoption!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:37 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:14 pm
Posts: 338
1st time to use him and in the start of a battle and couldn't find the FAQ

_________________
In the event that you may not know if your target is down - Double Tap Em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:54 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:06 am
Posts: 496
I would have to say yes because the codex lists it as a shooting attack. The FAQ only says you cannot use a mortar with the M.O.O. as a multiple barrage to negate the massive scatter.

This is all my opinion though, maybe someone else has some more input?

_________________
2000pts tyranids
3300pts IG

Playing WH40K is as exciting as riding a pony. Which doesn't sound exciting but...

...THE PONY IS 300 FEET TALL AND COVERED IN CHAINSAWS!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:04 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:14 pm
Posts: 338
You are both spot on unlike the Master of Ordinance. That guy couldn't hit the broadside of a Warlord Titan.

_________________
In the event that you may not know if your target is down - Double Tap Em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:41 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:14 pm
Posts: 338
Well I have to admit he accidentally made up his points today by his shots drifting into enemy squads. So the M.o.O. and I are mates again. Lol. We have a love hate relationship.

_________________
In the event that you may not know if your target is down - Double Tap Em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 6:40 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:43 am
Posts: 11
After all, he brings a Basilisk's gun with him for 25% of the points.

There is no extra rule that could make him shoot at another target.
Members of artillery units can do so (page 55 Rulebook).
But the Master of Ordnance is part of the command squad, which is classified as an infantry unit (page 90 codex).
His attack is supposed to be treated as a normal shot (page 31 codex).

On the plus side, this means that he is affected from orders like "bring it down" as usual.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:54 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:14 pm
Posts: 338
So what you are saying is his ordinance shot can be twin linked w/ the Bring it Down rule? In earlier topics I have heard that it couldn't, but it would be great if that was possible.

_________________
In the event that you may not know if your target is down - Double Tap Em!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 3:10 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:43 am
Posts: 11
I would be surprised if anyone is able to show you a rule which sais he cannot receive orders.
The codex sais it is supposed to be treated like a normal shooting attack. He is an infantry unit model, so he benefits from all orders as usual (not "First Rank, second Rank" of course, because he has no laser rifle).

I've read about this discussion in several forums. The strongest argument of the people who say he can't is: "Well, he shouldn't, it doesn't feel right."
If you play rules as written, he can use "bring it down". Just because the chances to hit the model are not good (because he has to roll 6 or less for the scatterroll), it doesn't mean it is not allowed.
Everything else is just house-rules.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: M.O.O.does
PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2012 6:00 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 10:14 pm
Posts: 338
I have been reading the Codex and BRB and I cannot say I don't agrre w/ you. The best roll I have hit on w/ him was a 1-1-2 w/ LOS and so hit dead on (oh on top of that I rolled a Hit on the scatter roll) that was a once in a long time hit. Actually, my to my gaming clubs ire, in tourney games I am known for the uncanny scatter rolls that don’t scatter by rolling double 1's or a combination that are 3's or at most a 4's. Lol. But that is the Dice Gods bein g kind and I wouldn't bet a win on it.

_________________
In the event that you may not know if your target is down - Double Tap Em!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group