It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:20 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Regular
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Somehwere in the vast nothingness of space...
Right looking through the new and shiny BA codex and their DS LR's I had an idea of how it may be possible for vanilla marines to pull the same stunt however i'm not 100% sure of this...

What I propose is this-
A librarian with gate to inifinity will join a squad and embark (or start the game) in a land raider (was thinking crusader/redeemer pattern) and cast gate to infinity. As this requires no line of sight and affects the squad it should affect the Land Raider as well thus you are able to deepstrike it. However if you deep strike it you shouldn't be allowed to assault (deep strike rules in rule book) but codex > rule book and so if you use a crusader/redeemer pattern with frag assault launchers you should be able to assault as normal when disembarking from a Land Raider...

as I said I'm not 100% on this but I can't see any discrepancies in the rules anywhere or any rule that would prevent this however I'd like peoples opinions on this

Cheers guys

_________________
Space Wolves - 4000pts
Grey Knights - 2000pts

Lizardmen -3000pts
Skaven -3000pts

The passivity of the spectators lies in their activity


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:42 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:37 pm
Posts: 314
Libby's gate cant teleport vehicles.

He is only allowed to teleport the unit he is attatched to. Independant characters cant attached to vehicles.



If you want to get around this, the closest thing you could say is a dedicated transport to a unit is part of it. In which case you'd have to take a squad of terminators/w dedicated LR. So you'd be paying 550 points for a squad of 5 basic termies & a standard libby that could assault from deepstrike (which in turn would probably scatter you more than 6" away from your target area).


Probably not a good idea, but i imagine it would be fun to try it in a friendly game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:33 pm 
Offline
Silver Vault Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 640
Ribbons Earned: Took part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryRED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.Placed First with a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Burning Star IV wrote:
...if you deep strike it you shouldn't be allowed to assault (deep strike rules in rule book) but codex > rule book and so if you use a crusader/redeemer pattern with frag assault launchers you should be able to assault as normal when disembarking from a Land Raider...


All Land Raider patterns have the Assault Vehicle special rule, meaning that squads can assault out of them. Frag Assault Launcers on Crusaders and Redeemers give the squad Frag Grenades on the turn they assault out of it. They're basically pods lining the sides of the door that explode and spray shrapnel everywhere as a bunch of Terminators thunder out of the Land Raider.

_________________
"Darn you Incursus and your ninja ways! Darn you straight to Heck!" - TheSinisterUrge


Last edited by Incursus on Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:54 pm 
Offline
Spends far too much time here...
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:57 pm
Posts: 11147
Why not just play BA? Then again, DSing land raiders isn't exactly practical.

_________________
"If you can't afford Warhammer 40k, you're obviously eating too much!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 9:57 pm 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:07 pm
Posts: 9158
Location: Ontario, Canada
There is no way to deepstrike a Land Raider with normal Marines. If you used Gate of Infinity you'd simply take the Librarian and the squad he's attached to and warp them out of the Land Raider leaving it behind.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:51 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Veteran

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2010 6:37 pm
Posts: 184
Deep striking a land raider is a bad, bad idea.

You can't assault out of it, you have a gigantic deep strike footprint, and you're leaving yourself wide open to be melta'd.

The standard move 12, hop out and assault gets you almost 20 inches anyways.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:45 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:47 pm
Posts: 4612
Eihnlazer wrote:
If you want to get around this, the closest thing you could say is a dedicated transport to a unit is part of it. In which case you'd have to take a squad of terminators/w dedicated LR.


There is no rule saying that a Dedicated transport is a "Part" of the unit, the only thing even remotely close is that only the unit a transport was purchased for may be deployed inside it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:57 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:09 am
Posts: 1811
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Ribbons Earned: RED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.
That is true but it is bought as an upgrade to the unit as a dedicated transport. I think this would work.

_________________
Necrons: 6000+ points.
Blood Angels: 5000+ points.
Vampire Counts: 4000+ points.
Eldar: 3000+ points.
Skaven: 3000+ points.
Wood Elves 3500+ points.
Orks: 3000+ Points.
Imperial Guard: 500 Points.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:58 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:47 pm
Posts: 4612
But it is not a part of the unit. Do you have to maintain 2" coherency throughout the game? Can you allocate wounds to the vehicle? The transport is not a "Part" of the unit, it merely deploys with it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:08 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:09 am
Posts: 1811
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Ribbons Earned: RED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.
But it is purchased as an upgrade to the unit.

Pg 67: Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with the unit.

_________________
Necrons: 6000+ points.
Blood Angels: 5000+ points.
Vampire Counts: 4000+ points.
Eldar: 3000+ points.
Skaven: 3000+ points.
Wood Elves 3500+ points.
Orks: 3000+ Points.
Imperial Guard: 500 Points.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:10 am 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:07 pm
Posts: 9158
Location: Ontario, Canada
BoyMac wrote:
But it is purchased as an upgrade to the unit.

Pg 67: Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with the unit.


It doesn't matter, it is not part of the unit. It DOES NOT work. It is purchased along side them in the same force organization chart but they are not the same unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:11 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:47 pm
Posts: 4612
Yes, together as in the same force organization slot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 3:35 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 8:37 pm
Posts: 314
Well as i was saying, even if it was a legal move, it's pretty ineffective for its point cost, so why would you do it for anything but crazy antics.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 12:58 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:47 pm
Posts: 4612
Well you don't have to worry about it because it's not legal :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 8:30 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:11 pm
Posts: 1624
Location: Rochester MN, USA
From the FAQ:

Q. Must passengers fire at the same target that
their vehicle is firing at?
A. No, they are a separate unit (albeit they are
temporarily co-existing with the vehicle) and so
can fire at a different target.

While it is in answer to a different question, I believe it also clearly answers this one.

Note that even in this case, they do not make a distinction about dedicated transports. That is because dedicated transports are just vehicles that if units start in them it has to be the unit they were bought with. Nothing more.

_________________
http://www.shapeways.com/shops/randombitz


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 707Dave and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group