It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 12:48 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Beginner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:55 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Palmyra,Illinios,USA
I'm just starting warhammer 40k and I just got the rule book but when I got to the force organization part I got confused. I didn't understand if dedicated transports count as a separate choice or not. Like if a squad of tactical marnies were brought in a rhino does that count as one troop choice or two troop choices?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 1:12 pm 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:38 am
Posts: 1943
Location: in your closest, with a camera, taking pictures
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesHas Completed 25 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryRED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.Placed First with a 'Mini of the Month' EntryCompleted a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
if its taken as a dedicated transport it doesnt get counted towards the FOC

_________________
Bromanced to my Brosband - BewareOfTom

Pen gun, mightier than the sword. Sword gun, mightier than the pen gun.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 1:16 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Beginner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:55 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Palmyra,Illinios,USA
Thanks for the help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 2:07 pm 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:27 pm
Posts: 8513
Location: Deseronto, On, Canada
Ribbons Earned: Completed a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
and this works for other vehicles also, like a terminator squad may take a land raider as a dedicated transport, its usually heavy support, but since the terminators bought it, it does not take up a FOC slot anymore

_________________
I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees

"(Lebianism) is rather inefficient... there appear to be interface problems"
- Engelbart Kappa


Kidnapping? I call it surprise adoption!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 2:25 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:56 am
Posts: 68
Only one terminator squad though, and one terminator assault squad. All others have to be brought as heavy support... so max 5 in normal battles *shudders at the thought of someone taking five landraiders*

_________________
"Wounds for the Dice God!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 2:34 pm 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 12:38 am
Posts: 1943
Location: in your closest, with a camera, taking pictures
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesHas Completed 25 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryRED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.Placed First with a 'Mini of the Month' EntryCompleted a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Morcac wrote:
Only one terminator squad though, and one terminator assault squad. All others have to be brought as heavy support... so max 5 in normal battles *shudders at the thought of someone taking five landraiders*


where does it say that?

_________________
Bromanced to my Brosband - BewareOfTom

Pen gun, mightier than the sword. Sword gun, mightier than the pen gun.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 2:38 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:56 am
Posts: 68
In the army list part of the codex, under terminators, and assault terminators. For the each squad it sais one in the army may take a landraider as a dedicated transport.

_________________
"Wounds for the Dice God!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 3:41 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Beginner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 3:55 pm
Posts: 43
Location: Palmyra,Illinios,USA
Thanks this will help me when I start building lists


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 3:47 pm 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:27 pm
Posts: 8513
Location: Deseronto, On, Canada
Ribbons Earned: Completed a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
well thats vanilla marines, I think SW can take them per WG unit, and any BA unit can take them

_________________
I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees

"(Lebianism) is rather inefficient... there appear to be interface problems"
- Engelbart Kappa


Kidnapping? I call it surprise adoption!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 4:35 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:56 am
Posts: 68
Yes, I was only referring to vanilla, I have the other codexes somewhere so I could check, but I am lazy, so unless anyone really needs to know I can look for them, and please state the chapter, because what with me being the only person in my gaming group with every codex they get borrowed and misplaced A LOT, so I only want to go looking once.

_________________
"Wounds for the Dice God!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 7:46 pm 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:48 am
Posts: 5162
Location: Toronto, Ontario
BewareOfTom wrote:
well thats vanilla marines, I think SW can take them per WG unit, and any BA unit can take them


Yeah, I've heard of BA guys taking upwards of 5 of them for ardboyz. My lance weapons would love to meet those guys! :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 4:12 pm 
Offline
Silver Vault Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:04 am
Posts: 304
Okay I would just like to make sure I am reading this right... A Land Raider for any faction DOES NOT take up a spot on the FOC if it is taken as a dedicated transport!?

_________________
Eldar: 5500 points

Khador: 25 points

Ogre Kingdoms: 2300 points


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 5:01 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:56 am
Posts: 68
Nope, dedicated transports never do, and it does not state otherwise in the codex, as only codexes override rules (still talking vanilla).

_________________
"Wounds for the Dice God!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:30 pm 
Offline
Silver Vault Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:04 am
Posts: 304
what about CSM?

_________________
Eldar: 5500 points

Khador: 25 points

Ogre Kingdoms: 2300 points


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 6:45 pm 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:36 pm
Posts: 1053
Location: Niagara Falls Ontario
CSM have them as heavies but im not sure if termies can take them as DT's

_________________
fool me once shame on me, fool me twice... BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
Cryx, Circle, CSM, and BA armies


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group