It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 8:08 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 594 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 ... 40  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:26 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:48 pm
Posts: 560
Sniperfex wrote:
Kris Knives wrote:
Hey everyone,

Could someone help settle a rules disagreement, how do extra attacks and flamethrowers work. Do you get an extra d6 per attack or just an single d6 +other attacks.

IE: If I had a flame throw and 3 attacks do I get 3d6 attacks in melee or just d6+2?


are you on about the overwatch flamers? and then attacking in combat

overwatch causes D3 auto hits

but you always get your base attacks in combat (models with D6 attacks get D6 attacks)


The question is about on the assault with extra attacks not when using the wall of death move. The rules say flames get d6 close combat attacks and PE's have flamethrowers built into their template as d6+1 attacks. Now they suddenly also have rage so the question is do they get d6+3 attacks on 3d6+1. I'd assume d6+3 but I wanted to ask.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 4:40 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Veteran
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:33 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Napa Valley, California
Ronin wrote:
I have a few of my own after playing a practice game with a friend.
1) Can you snapfire krak missiles from missile launchers?
2) If a unit is behind a wall of cover, but the blast template lands behind them, do they still get a cover save?
3) Do blast templates still allocate to the front of the unit?
4) What's the maximum move distance a transport can move while the users inside can snap fire out of fire points?

I would look at my rulebook, but I'm sitting in class and it's not on me. xD



1) I don't see why it can't, it's a heavy weapon if it moves no?
2) I believe so, because unless it's a barrage, its intended to be coming from the model firing it.
3) Yes, unless it's a barrage weapon.
4) You can move at Cruising speed and snap fire, combat speed only counts the models as moving, you can't snapshot out of a transport if it's moved flatout or used smoke launchers.


Also, can someone explain how grenades work? Is it 2d6 scatter small blast?

_________________
My Work in Progress thread

My youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:23 am 
Online
Lost in the MiniWarGaming world...
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:51 pm
Posts: 3628
Location: Orlando, Florida
Ribbons Earned: Won a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryRED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.
WIld Zontar wrote:
Also, can someone explain how grenades work? Is it 2d6 scatter small blast?

It depends on the grenade, but yes.

_________________
Chaos Space Marine Tactica--and comments thread


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:09 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Veteran

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:48 pm
Posts: 154
Location: right behind you
Hello, there.

I must say sorry first if i use the wrong words, or refer to something in the wrong way. (and my spelling if i make a mistake or two)

Now i have a question about allied detachments, its a very simple one.
Can you take an allied detachment of units(s) from the same codex?

If yes or no can you refer me to the page in the rule book which tells me? (or some place that you got it from) just some sort of proof.

Thank you ahead of time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:45 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:43 pm
Posts: 40
Location: United Kingdom
You cannot ally your codex with itself. On page 109, in the subsection on allied detachments, it mentions in bold that "this must be a different codex to the one used for the primary detachment".

_________________
40k:
Necrons - 3850
Dark Eldar - 1850
Eldar - 2100
WHFB:
Empire - 600


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:14 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Veteran

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 2:48 pm
Posts: 154
Location: right behind you
Thank you Scorpius,

Now for a second question, with overwatch and flamers is know its a D3 attacks, i get that part. But i was wondering if the restrictions for usual templates apply?

IE if the flamer is at the back and he can't put the template down without hitting some of your own models can't he over watch?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline
Lost in the MiniWarGaming world...

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:22 pm
Posts: 3168
No, it does not matter where the flamer models are. I think this only going to be silly when some jump pack infantry fail to assault 9'' (chosen as it could be worth the risk) into an IG blob squad with heavy flamers and flamers.
[please, give the reference for the sentence where it says not do this if I am wrong.]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:20 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:57 pm
Posts: 1208
Location: California
well, do consider you can have the same thing happen without template weapons. the other day i lost like 3 termies on the charge to some guardmans overwatching.

plus if you are really worried about it, find a way to be out of los before the charge. overwatch follows the rules of los, so they cant overwatch if you arent in view.

_________________
Army - Wins/Losses:
Trollbloods - 22/2
Mercenaries - 4/0
Cygnar - 3/1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:56 am 
Offline
Silver Vault Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:53 pm
Posts: 230
Location: BI, Germany
Quote:
plus if you are really worried about it, find a way to be out of los before the charge. overwatch follows the rules of los, so they cant overwatch if you arent in view.


You also can't assault if you don't have LoS, so I'm not sure what hiding to avoid overwatch would give you...

_________________
completly finished models:
Marines [--------------------|] 2168/2203
Tyranids[----------------|----] 2032/2582
Necrons [----------|----------]1260/2500


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:14 am 
Offline
Lost in the MiniWarGaming world...

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 5:22 pm
Posts: 3168
In a large squad you can have flamers that are at the back of the squad no where near the action, and they still are able to do a lot of damage to a unit that is not in template distance. That is he strange part, they could even be next to lasguns which are out of range.

Good spot on Line of sight being needed for overwatch. Hitting and range are automatic for wall of death.

kaot wrote:
Quote:
plus if you are really worried about it, find a way to be out of los before the charge. overwatch follows the rules of los, so they cant overwatch if you arent in view.


You also can't assault if you don't have LoS, so I'm not sure what hiding to avoid overwatch would give you...
You may able to position troops for the assault so the flamer can not see them. Like position your battlewagon so when you boys get out they can not see the flamer models but are in reasonable distance to other models they can see.

Also flamers seem to be able to give cover to other guns which is strange. If an enemy model is obscured from the flamer point of view they would get a cover save from other guns that are firing. That doesn't sound right to me. Can any one disprove this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:49 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:57 pm
Posts: 1208
Location: California
kaot wrote:
Quote:
plus if you are really worried about it, find a way to be out of los before the charge. overwatch follows the rules of los, so they cant overwatch if you arent in view.


You also can't assault if you don't have LoS, so I'm not sure what hiding to avoid overwatch would give you...

awww crap, tom fooled me with that one then. i spent a whole game of space hulk getting slaughtered since i couldnt get los and he would charge me from around a corner.

_________________
Army - Wins/Losses:
Trollbloods - 22/2
Mercenaries - 4/0
Cygnar - 3/1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:01 pm 
Offline
Bronze Vault Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:31 am
Posts: 377
Location: Norway, which is not the capital of Sweden
Q: In the new rulebook FAQ with regards to assaulting through difficult terrain, it seems you have to charge through terrain if that gives you a shorter charge range rather than avoiding it. Is this the case?

Thanks in advance.

-hakunamatartin

_________________
3500 pts Tau (82% fully painted in vior'la sept colours)
2500 pts Tyranids (36% fully painted in hive fleet behemoth colours)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 2:11 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:01 pm
Posts: 592
Location: Malmö, Sweden
hakunamatartin wrote:
Q: In the new rulebook FAQ with regards to assaulting through difficult terrain, it seems you have to charge through terrain if that gives you a shorter charge range rather than avoiding it. Is this the case?

Thanks in advance.

-hakunamatartin

Yes.

_________________
Army: W/D/L
Black Legion: 28/5/11
Hive Fleet Nidhöggr: 15/0/5
Kabal of the Black Moon: 11/1/2
Grey Knights: 2/0/1
Dark Angels: 3/0/3
Legion of Everblight: 14/0/4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:48 pm 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:57 am
Posts: 1089
When disembarking from a wrecked transport do you move 2 or 6 inches away?

_________________
KBelleau
SSssshhhh...Young Autarch's and Seers...Only Eldar lives matter.

All other life is insignificant compared to ours. Their lives are to be utilized as pawns...if they take comfort in being our allies...let them.

They are all merely pawns...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: General Q&A Thread
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 11:19 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:01 pm
Posts: 592
Location: Malmö, Sweden
cj rex wrote:
When disembarking from a wrecked transport do you move 2 or 6 inches away?

3 inches.

_________________
Army: W/D/L
Black Legion: 28/5/11
Hive Fleet Nidhöggr: 15/0/5
Kabal of the Black Moon: 11/1/2
Grey Knights: 2/0/1
Dark Angels: 3/0/3
Legion of Everblight: 14/0/4


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 594 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 ... 40  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group