Old Gamer, new to 40k

In the future there is only war... Discuss the Warhammer 40K game right here...
JmOz01
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Old Gamer, new to 40k

Post by JmOz01 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 12:19 pm

So I decided to get into 40k (as it is the most popular game in my area)...Been a wargamer for 20 years, so not a total newb, but new to 40k

I have coming a full box of Dark Imperium and a second set of the SM from it (Long story short: Only wanted one set but due to e-bay, and impulsiveness...) coming in the mail. Not here till next week.

I am trying to figure out what I will still need (I have Index one, will be getting the SM book), and some of the rules...

First issue

Chapter Stratagems & Chapter Tactics: Are these based on Detachments or on full army comp? i.e. if I had a full detachments of Ultramarines would I be able to use their Stratagems/tactics while having another detachment of IG? I do know that you need to share a keyword for the whole army...

Second, with what I have coming, roughly how many points am I at?

Third and WEIRD: is their a chapter that uses purple with black accents for their colors? preferably with a wolf motif...

Raschier
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting Pledges

Re: Old Gamer, new to 40k

Post by Raschier » Sat Mar 31, 2018 2:07 pm

1) These are based on Detachments, not whole army. So if you got a battalion of Ultramarines and a spearhead of Cadian Imperial Guard, you can use tactics/traits of both armies. But they don't combine, so the Ultramarines can't use the Regimental Trait of the Cadians and vice versa. You can also use both the armies' stratagems, but again you can't use an Ultramarine Stratagem on an IG unit.

2) Around 25 Power Points with the Dark Imperium set.