Returning newbie player

In the future there is only war... Discuss the Warhammer 40K game right here...
virakosen
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Returning newbie player

Post by virakosen » Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:25 pm

Hi everyone! Returning newbie here (I played one game with my friend's CSMs against his Necrons, lost horribly). What has all changed in the new edition? Currently interested in everything except Eldar, Dark Eldar, and Adeptus Mechanicus(Only models I could find is my Hive Tyrant, 3 Cadian Guardsmen, and my unpainted Librarian.)
Last edited by virakosen on Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Death Guard (Patrol Detachment in progress)
-Lord of Contagion (Assembled, awaiting primer)
-2 seven man squads of Plague Marines (Assembling)
-1 Myphitic Blight-Hauler (unassembled)

Koonitz
Mighty Manufactorium of MiniWarGaming Posts
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting Pledges

Re: Returning newbie player

Post by Koonitz » Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:55 pm

Welcome to the forums!

Unfortunately, that is a FAR to broad and general question. 8th has changed effectively everything from previous editions. Because of the sweeping changes, every single model has changed to some degree. All previous codices were made null, forcing everyone to buy new rules. As it stands, not every army has a new codex, yet. It's simply impossible for us to provide for you a list of things that have changed. Doubly so since you are interested in more than one army.

Your best bet would be to download the basic 8th Ed rules from GW's website, then watch a few 8th Edition batreps to get yourself up to speed. Then, when you're ready, go into the appropriate sub-forums here and either read up, or make some posts asking the questions you have about particular armies.
Armies:
40k: Knights Cynosure Iron Hands successor chapter, House Terryn Questor Imperialis, Thousand Sons/Tzeentch Daemons
30k: Thousand Sons
Age of Sigmar: Sylvaneth, Disciples of Tzeentch