Narrative Campaign Help

In the future there is only war... Discuss the Warhammer 40K game right here...
Orangegroves
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Narrative Campaign Help

Post by Orangegroves » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:44 pm

I am relatively new to 40k and have seen a couple of MWG narrative campaigns as really enjoyed them and the mechanics. They talk about being able to get/purchase these but I don’t understand how they work exactly. Some of the questions I have are:

How do you get started? How do know if you have the correct armies/models for the campaign?
Is the first battle of a campaign a ‘set’ army (meaning the campaign tells you which army you are bringing to the first battle)? Or do you have to pick your army roster?
How do you know which scenario comes next if Army A wins, if Army B wins? Does this matter?
Is there a difference between the type of victories Herioric vs minor)?

I tried to figure out some of these myself but am kind of stumped.

Any help/advice is appreciated.

Koonitz
Mighty Manufactorium of MiniWarGaming Posts
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting Pledges

Re: Narrative Campaign Help

Post by Koonitz » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:36 pm

The narrative campaigns produced by Miniwargaming were all completely custom, with armies and missions designed and used by MWG Matt and the players involved in the campaign.

None were pre-made by GW. However, you can find some campaigns like this from GW, from time to time. I don't think they've produced one for 8th Edition, yet, but you can find campaigns in books like the Wrath of Magnus campaign book (which was for 7th Ed). There are also many for Horus Heresy/30k, from Forge World, in their large (and expensive) black books.

These campaigns will lay out mission structure, and give you 'benefits/consequenes' of winning/losing games as the campaign progresses.