Immobile units?

All discussions for Warhammer 30k (i.e. Horus Heresy), including Pre-Heresy, Heresy, and Post-Heresy go here.
Locked
User avatar
Tirpydurp
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 5:22 pm
Location: United Kingdom, Nottingham

Immobile units?

Post by Tirpydurp » Mon Nov 14, 2016 5:38 am

I'd like to point out I am new to 30k so apologies for being a noob :)

So I'm trying to use The Last Serrated Sun Rite of War but it states that I cannot take any Immobile units. I've never heard of an Immobile unit before so I don't really know what counts as an Immobile unit. Reason why I'm asking is because I want to take Rapier Quad Mortars and it doesn't say anything about them being immobile, however their play style suggests they are "immobile" as they will be sat at the back not moving.

Thoughts?
Horus Heresy Word Bearers - 1000 Points

Xlv7
MiniWarGaming Beginner
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Immobile units?

Post by Xlv7 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:54 am

Immobile is pretty much the turantula turrets. Think anything that can't move after being deployed. I'm not sure if that also counts normal drop pods as I haven't seen the rite of war restrictions personally. Quad mortars are fine as they can move.

Lightningsymphony
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:45 pm

Re: Immobile units?

Post by Lightningsymphony » Mon Nov 14, 2016 9:27 am

If it has the Immobile special rule or the (Immobile) type it can't be used. Like Deathstorm Droppods or Tarantulas, only regular drop pods may be used if they are dedicated transports for a unit. As specified in the Rite of War (Mobile Age of Darkness army list, page 117)
Great Ascendent Drakthia-Servant of Rivera, Drothri of Solaris

Great Leviathan Vasa-Master of the Milky Way

Lesser Leviathan Rivera-Guardian of Belliath, Servant of Vasa

User avatar
Tirpydurp
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 5:22 pm
Location: United Kingdom, Nottingham

Re: Immobile units?

Post by Tirpydurp » Mon Nov 14, 2016 11:11 am

Thank you both!

I've never seen the Immobile rule before so I was a little confused, thank you for clearing it up.
Horus Heresy Word Bearers - 1000 Points

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests