Commander and Army Help!

If it ain't human, and it ain't from the warp, then it must be Xenos.
obiguzkenobi
Now we're getting somewhere...

Commander and Army Help!

Post by obiguzkenobi » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:46 pm

Hey all!

Im pretty new to 40k and tabletop games in general for that matter. I'm trying to help my girlfriend out with what to get me for my birthday coming up. I selected the tau to play and working on building a commander right now. Still don't know what weapons to equip him, but that's a different question. Back to the main question. My girlfriend has offered to get me some models for my up coming birthday. Being new I don't really know what to suggest. What would you all suggest she pick up along with a start collecting set? And what would you suggest for a commander loadout. Thank you all for the help!

jwak
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Re: Commander and Army Help!

Post by jwak » Sat Aug 12, 2017 10:00 am

I don't have a great amount of experience with Tau (never played as them) but based purely on what I've seen in online battle reports and my local meta, Commanders with 4 fusion blasters seems very popular and powerful.

As for what else to buy, perhaps some pathfinders so you can make the most of markerlights? Or some more fire warriors so you can have two squads of 10?

Again, I don't have loads of experience with Tau so please take my advice with a pinch of salt. I'm sure there are far more knowledgeable people on this forum who can help. Above all else, buy things that you think look cool!

blippityblip
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 1 Terrain Group Build entry

Post by blippityblip » Sun Aug 13, 2017 2:20 am