We all know Smite, per the core rulebook, grants d6 damage instead of d3 on psychic test rolls of GREATER than 10.
However, in the entry for Rubric Marines, Scarab Occult Terminators and Magnus, where it clarifies their variant damage, it states the following (quoted from Rubric Marine entry, but the bolded text is similar for all three):
Note that this wording is not used in Ahriman's, or the Exalted Sorcerer's datasheets.When an Aspiring Sorcerer manifests the Smite psychic power, he inflicts 1 mortal wound instead of d3, or d3 mortal wounds instead of d6 if the Psychic test is 10 or more.
The bolded text clearly indicates something DIFFERENT than what is stated in the rulebook for the Smite psychic power. There is no clarification or alteration in the FAQ at the time of the writing of this post. My concern, and the reason for the discussion is this: "Is this a mistake, or deliberately meant to give these units a slight edge when manifesting their weak (or much more powerful, but to heck with it, it's Magnus) Smite?"
Rules as written, clearly this means that the power is enhanced on a 10-12, unlike normal smite's 11-12. But the spirit of the rules tells me it should be identical to normal Smite, and be on an 11-12, and this is an oversight.
Thoughts? Would I be a bad Thousand Sons player if I take advantage of this, or is this such an insignificant bonus, especially on Aspiring sorcerers, that I shouldn't bother overthinking it because I'm probably gonna roll a 1 on the d3 anyway?
Edit: Anyone have a Chaos codex handy to look into the Rubric squad found in there? Is it any different?