- The Seer's Bane is a Strength: User, AP2 Daemon Weapon with Force and the Bane of Wisdom special rule which has the following definition.
When you normally roll to wound against a unit, you normally use the unit's majority toughness value. So, do you roll against the majority Leadership in this case or do you follow the Leadership normal rules that is to always use the highest value unless another rule specify to do the contrary? Because it can make a big difference.Bane of Wisdom wrote:Against non-vehicle, the Strength value of the Seer's Bane is equal to the bearer's Leadership characteristic, and all to Wound rolls are made against the target's Leadership characteristic instead of their Toughness. However, use the target's Toughness value as normal for determining whether or not the Seer's Bane inflicts Instant Death.
This weapon will usually be S10 because TS characters are Ld 10 because of VotLW, but if I'm attacking a Space Marines unit (Ld 8 ) that contains a Veteran Sergeant (Ld 9 ) and for a reason, I'm not in a challenge, do I wound on 2+ (the enemy unit majority Ld is 8 ) or 3+ because you always use the highest leadership in a unit?
- Astral Grimoire:
If the bearer is an independent character attached to the unit that you target, do he receives the Jump unit type as well? An independent character part of a unit counts as his own unit and as part of the unit at the same time. And if there are more than one independent characters attached to the unit, do they gain Jump as well. That confuses me.Astral Grimoire wrote:At the start of the movement phase, pick the bearer and a single friendly infantry unit withthin 12" of the bearer. For the duration of the phase, that unit has the Jump unit type.
I've always played it so that, by example, if the bearer is attached to a Rubric Squad together with another Sorcerer attached to the same squad and that you target the Rubric squad, only the Rubric squad get the Jump unit type. So if you want to have them move 12 inches, you need to give Discs of Tzeentch, Bikes or Jump Packs to all the independent characters. But I wonder if that is the correct way of playing this artefact.
What do you think?