Chosen, what are they good for?

The ideal discussion board for all traitors, heretics, and the warp-spawned Daemons.
Kiba
MiniWarGaming Veteran

Chosen, what are they good for?

Post by Kiba » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:39 am

Hi all
Ive recently got into chaos, and first off i want to say I'm already hooked. But with me being a noob I'm having a hard timr rapping my head around chosen. I mean sure having regular space marines with power weapons seens really cool, but at the end of the day they are just that, REGULAR CSM with power weapons. Now maby they are a good unit and i just can't see it (possible because im taking out my rage at how biases dark vengeance was towrds DA)
So if you guys have effective ways to use them, or I'm just missing something, please let me know.

Solomongrundy
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Re: Chosen, what are they good for?

Post by Solomongrundy » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:46 am

They are really only good because they can take 5 special weapons (melta, plasma, flamer) in a squad of 6. Regular CSM needs 10 man squad for 2 special weapons. They also become troop choices if you bring Abaddon the Despoiler. Its not really worth the points to load them out for melee, there are better choices in the codex. Also the only models right now for Chosen are from Dark Vengeance and they look cool, but the load out they are made from isn't that good. If you want to go with Chosen I would suggest making your own from other bits or getting the Dark Vengeance ones and cutting them up and piecing them together.

Marit Lage
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry

Post by Marit Lage » Mon Aug 19, 2013 10:55 am

Because they can take five plasma guns and unleash plasma death on anything that gets within two feet.
Chaos Space Marine Tactica (old)