Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Talk about all the armies of the Imperium here, from the mighty Space Marines to the innumerable Astra Militarum.
Locked
ti9999
MiniWarGaming Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:58 am

Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by ti9999 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:09 pm

So here's a head scratcher for all of you-
The old Turbo-Penetrator rounds inflicted 2 wounds only if your opponent failed the save.
The new version states - "Against all other targets, shots from a turbo-penetrator round inflict D3 Wounds, rather than just 1."

Would you take this to mean that it just drops D3 wounds onto a target, bypassing rolling to wound?
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all it's contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance amidst the black seas of infinity."
-H.P. Lovecraft

User avatar
Marit Lage
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4182
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:51 pm
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by Marit Lage » Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:24 pm

Does it have a strength value?
Chaos Space Marine Tactica (old)
Models painted in 2018:
2 Exalted Champion
Dark Apostle
Abaddon
7 Raptors
2 Chaos Bikers
5 Chaos Terminators
4 Custodians

ti9999
MiniWarGaming Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:58 am

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by ti9999 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:45 pm

It's a sniper weapon, Str X.

The reason I'm asking is that the old version of the rule explicitly stated that it inflicted 2 wounds only if the opponent failed their save.

This version makes no mention of that whatsoever. That's the rule quoted straight from the dataslate.

I could also see it working like the old version, where the shot inflicts D3 wounds after saves are failed, but it isn't worded that way.
"The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all it's contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance amidst the black seas of infinity."
-H.P. Lovecraft

User avatar
Marit Lage
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4182
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:51 pm
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by Marit Lage » Sun Aug 24, 2014 1:47 pm

If it says it ignores saves, then it does. Otherwise, you get to make saving throws against any wounds inflicted, provided the source doesn't cut through that model's armor.
Chaos Space Marine Tactica (old)
Models painted in 2018:
2 Exalted Champion
Dark Apostle
Abaddon
7 Raptors
2 Chaos Bikers
5 Chaos Terminators
4 Custodians

User avatar
abf36
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: UK

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by abf36 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 1:59 pm

I don't think you should take the 'inflicts D3 Wounds' literally i.e. it's not saying to ignore rolling To Wound. However, now that you've mentioned it, I can't tell when it becomes the D3.

Shots (the total before rolling To Hit)
Hits (successful To Hit rolls)
Here?
Wounds (successful To Wound rolls)
Or here?
Unsaved Wounds (unsuccessful Save rolls)
AM 8K -¦- AS 4K -¦- GK 4K -¦- IH 10K -¦- DW 2K -¦- BT 2K5 -¦- OA 570 -¦- LC 1K5

User avatar
Marit Lage
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4182
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 3:51 pm
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by Marit Lage » Sun Aug 24, 2014 2:28 pm

From the looks of it, you roll to wound after the d3, considering it doesn't say after the roll to wound. So you treat it like a shot that causes multiple wounds, rather than something that doubles the wounds, like with Scabiethrax.
Chaos Space Marine Tactica (old)
Models painted in 2018:
2 Exalted Champion
Dark Apostle
Abaddon
7 Raptors
2 Chaos Bikers
5 Chaos Terminators
4 Custodians

User avatar
abf36
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: UK

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by abf36 » Sun Aug 24, 2014 2:34 pm

Marit Lage wrote:From the looks of it, you roll to wound after the d3, considering it doesn't say after the roll to wound. So you treat it like a shot that causes multiple wounds, rather than something that doubles the wounds, like with Scabiethrax.
I agree, and will treat it like this (until I have reason not to).
AM 8K -¦- AS 4K -¦- GK 4K -¦- IH 10K -¦- DW 2K -¦- BT 2K5 -¦- OA 570 -¦- LC 1K5

Aegis
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:30 pm
Location: Welland, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by Aegis » Sun Aug 24, 2014 5:24 pm

I do not have the books immediately one hand, but this sounds like you roll to wound, and then it applies D3 wounds, much how some the D strength chart works. Personally, that is how I would run it.
Former MWG Leland, now just regular, old Leland. Now with more grump!

To see what I am working on, check out my Facebook page at its new address Aegisbrand Studios or just search for Leland Martel

User avatar
abf36
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: UK

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by abf36 » Tue Aug 26, 2014 3:31 am

Now that I've thought about it a bit - I'm going to assume its a copy and paste brain fart, and they mean for it to work as before;

unsaved Wound becomes D3 Wounds.
AM 8K -¦- AS 4K -¦- GK 4K -¦- IH 10K -¦- DW 2K -¦- BT 2K5 -¦- OA 570 -¦- LC 1K5

User avatar
MadMedek
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:03 am

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by MadMedek » Tue Aug 26, 2014 6:23 pm

All it means is that a model takes d3 wounds. Nothing in that statement leads one to believe you dobt have to roll to hit and wound. Just means when you do wound roll a d3 for wounds. Which is nice unless unit is overpriced.
I have a high threshold for other peoples pain.

gladiator5198
First post! Good job, now post more...
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 2:53 am

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by gladiator5198 » Sun Aug 31, 2014 2:12 am

Ok but what strength value would you roll with if you have to roll to wound. The way it sounds to me is that if it can potentially blow a vehicle up it will probably cause the wounds automatically

User avatar
IngenuityGap
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
Posts: 848
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:33 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by IngenuityGap » Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:28 am

It's a sniper weapon, so you wound on a 4+
7th Circle Chaos Daemons
Imperial Knights House Terryn
Adeptus Mechanicus - Skitarii, Cult Mechanicus, Imperial Knights
Tau

Aegis
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:30 pm
Location: Welland, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Vindicare's Turbo Penetrator Rounds

Post by Aegis » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:53 pm

Depends on the ammo used. The Turbo Penetrator round is S10. There is another (the name escapes me right now) that always wounds on 2+, and then the shield breaker which would wound on a 4+ because of the sniper rules.
Former MWG Leland, now just regular, old Leland. Now with more grump!

To see what I am working on, check out my Facebook page at its new address Aegisbrand Studios or just search for Leland Martel

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest