Played first game and now the rules questions

Discuss the mechanics of Dark Potential here.
Forum rules
Please understand that by posting anything in this area of the forum that you are acknowledging that MiniWarGaming has permission to use your ideas without compensation.
Locked
User avatar
Nappen
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
Posts: 8750
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:17 pm
Ribbons Earned: Won a monthly Terrain Group BuildWon 3 monthly Terrain Group BuildsMASTER BUILDER! Won 5 monthly Terrain Group Builds!Has Completed 1 Terrain Group Build entryHas Completed 3 Terrain Group Build entriesHas Completed 5 Terrain Group Build entriesHas Completed 10 Terrain Group Build entriesHas Completed 15 Terrain Group Build entriesHas Completed 20 Terrain Group Build entriesHas Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesHas Completed 25 Painting PledgesHas Completed 50 Painting PledgesHas Completed 100 Painting Pledges!Took part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryCompleted a 'Mini of the Month' EntryWon the second 'King of the Hill' challengesWon the third 'King of the Hill' challengesAwarded the Awesome Medal of Awesomeness!
Location: Tacoma, Washington

Played first game and now the rules questions

Post by Nappen » Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:33 am

So, I played my first game tonight with Kraig and minion son #2. We played reclaimers vs X'lanthos-starter box on starter box.

Anyway, we came up with a few questions and I appologize if these have been asked before (and don't see a FAQ thread-probably is one, and I just missed it). Each of these situations had impacts on the game, so decided to ask here.

1) Difficult terrain: Do you round up or down for distance or is it an absolute 2 for 1 rule. For example if your move is 7 do you move 3, 3.5 or 4 inches in difficult terrain?

2) If an AOE hits with the required number does it suffer the -1 to strength like a ranged attack?

3) Does BTB=CC or must you make a CC attack to be considered in CC. For example, can you run ending up in BB, being unable to do anything else but be considered in CC-therefore not being able to be shot at and obtaining free strikes? The rules say in CC X or Y happens, and that you had to be in BTB to make a CC attack, but we could not find a definition of what is considered "in CC."

4) When a FO targets a unit and then another model uses the guided special rule is it only that they need not to have LOS to fire or are there any other benefits? We could not find any.

5) When using command points one option is to reroll any roll. Does this mean a single die or both dice when making an attribute test. Pros and cons each way, just wanted to make sure. We assumed it meant both.

6) Can command points be used to modify the roll for multiple wounds weapons. For example: with a D3 wounds weapon, you roll a four-can you use a command point to change that to a five, thus increasing the wounds from two to three? It is not listed under "rolls that can be modified." Would also ask if this can be rerolled using a command point as well, as the rules state reroll any roll. I would say that using RAW you could reroll it, but not modify it. Is that the intent?

7) Stealth: At the beginning of the turn can you deactivate and then reactivate stealth? The rules for each say "before movement" but does not exclude the other. So, for example, if you have stealth (3) and two of the stealth bases were lost, at the beginning of the next turn can you reveal yourself, then reactivate gaining back the two lost bases?

I do not see a rule that says you are revealed if your other bases are lost, and by keeping stealth you cannot be targeted until someone percevies you. So would be a great tactical advantage to stay stealthed, then at the beginning of each turn recharge your number of stealth bases.

8: Does a kill with the free strike rule trigger the overrun rule?

9) The rules do not state it specifically but seem clear that overrun does not "reset" the turn, so no additional attacks are gained. It only allows a move of half the move attribute using normal movement rules. It is not a "normal movement" which is followed by an action. Correct?

Thanks :D

User avatar
Sabet
MiniWarGaming Zealot
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 7:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Played first game and now the rules questions

Post by Sabet » Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:37 am

Nappen wrote:1) Difficult terrain: Do you round up or down for distance or is it an absolute 2 for 1 rule. For example if your move is 7 do you move 3, 3.5 or 4 inches in difficult terrain?
Absolute 2 to 1
Nappen wrote:2) If an AOE hits with the required number does it suffer the -1 to strength like a ranged attack?

Depends on the weapon
Nappen wrote:3) Does BTB=CC or must you make a CC attack to be considered in CC. For example, can you run ending up in BB, being unable to do anything else but be considered in CC-therefore not being able to be shot at and obtaining free strikes? The rules say in CC X or Y happens, and that you had to be in BTB to make a CC attack, but we could not find a definition of what is considered "in CC."
You must make a CC attack to be considered in CC afaik.
Nappen wrote:4) When a FO targets a unit and then another model uses the guided special rule is it only that they need not to have LOS to fire or are there any other benefits? We could not find any.
Only that they do not need line-of-sight. Note that only particular units can use this ability.
Nappen wrote:5) When using command points one option is to reroll any roll. Does this mean a single die or both dice when making an attribute test. Pros and cons each way, just wanted to make sure. We assumed it meant both.
Both.
Nappen wrote:6) Can command points be used to modify the roll for multiple wounds weapons. For example: with a D3 wounds weapon, you roll a four-can you use a command point to change that to a five, thus increasing the wounds from two to three? It is not listed under "rolls that can be modified." Would also ask if this can be rerolled using a command point as well, as the rules state reroll any roll. I would say that using RAW you could reroll it, but not modify it. Is that the intent?
You can both modify and re-roll.
Nappen wrote:7) Stealth: At the beginning of the turn can you deactivate and then reactivate stealth? The rules for each say "before movement" but does not exclude the other. So, for example, if you have stealth (3) and two of the stealth bases were lost, at the beginning of the next turn can you reveal yourself, then reactivate gaining back the two lost bases?

I do not see a rule that says you are revealed if your other bases are lost, and by keeping stealth you cannot be targeted until someone percevies you. So would be a great tactical advantage to stay stealthed, then at the beginning of each turn recharge your number of stealth bases.
I believe you are able to do this. The only case where you would have to reveal before replenishing them would be if you had more than 1 base remaining. It would mean that the benefit of the misdirection of multiple bases is lost however, as you need to place the bases in base contact with the actual position of the model.
Nappen wrote:8: Does a kill with the free strike rule trigger the overrun rule?
No, it doesn't. The model has left base contact before the free strike takes place, as such overrun can not be triggered.
Nappen wrote:9) The rules do not state it specifically but seem clear that overrun does not "reset" the turn, so no additional attacks are gained. It only allows a move of half the move attribute using normal movement rules. It is not a "normal movement" which is followed by an action. Correct?
Correct.
The Beasts are rising...

Cyrmuvoodoo deserves a reward for the massive contribution to this game

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests