Complete Newbie With Two Questions...

If you have something you want to talk about that isn't game-specific, but is still related to wargaming, post it here.
Bassmunchkin
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Complete Newbie With Two Questions...

Post by Bassmunchkin » Sun Jul 09, 2017 4:23 pm

Hi everyone, Ive only just joined and have a couple of questions. I only play Talisman 4th edition at the moment, but want to get into 40,000.

Baring in mind that I’ve only painted a few characters in Talisman, have virtually nil knowledge of the rules of 40,000 and I’m trying to work out which edition I should purchase, could some of you shed some light as to which edition I should buy, I'm unsure if some editions have easier rules than others, (I've watched edition 8 played and it looks brilliant, but not sure if it's to overwhelming for a beginner)

Also I’m already a little confused in the order in which I start assembling models from the sprues once I’ve opened the box. I’ve only heard that you assemble the models and then start playing the game, however when using the roster sheets to work out the size of your army, you obviously then work out which armour each character is going to have in relation to cost, so should I work out which models have which armour first on my roster sheet and then build my models up accordingly, so that the models on the game table and the roster sheet are the same.

Thanking everyone in advance for their kind help.
Terry

Dheiti
MiniWarGaming Veteran

Re: Complete Newbie With Two Questions...

Post by Dheiti » Sun Jul 09, 2017 5:27 pm

Hey and welcome along!

First question is easy. 8th is the current edition, and is massively scaled down in terms of amount of rules. It may not seem it, but trust me it's simpler! Go with he current edition of 8th!

Secondly, assemble your models on what you want! Worry about WYSYWIG later! You can always speak to you ur opponents about proxying while you work out what you want to use long term!
Armies:
Tyranids