Fantasy Q & A

Discuss all you want about the Warhammer game that started it all...
st1mp0
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 6:27 am

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by st1mp0 » Tue Aug 13, 2013 2:54 am

nevermind, found the answer

Virobrain
Now we're getting somewhere...
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:09 pm

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Virobrain » Sun Sep 01, 2013 7:41 pm

How many points of army do I need to play a few beginner games?

CityOfKites
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:06 am

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by CityOfKites » Mon Sep 02, 2013 6:01 am

do you have Island of Blood starter set, if not that's as good a place as any to start, especially if you want to start Skaven or High Elves. If you got a buddy with the starter set just ask him to show you what's what for a couple of games, or they will do so in your local GW.

potato32
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:28 pm

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by potato32 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:59 pm

I have an odd question. According to the rulebook, a character can't join a unit of fliers. This came up when I tried to(lol) join a a few princes riding eagles to a unit of eagles. Mostly I tried making a flying eagle squad. Mostly 3 princes with basic gear on respective eagles with three more birds to disrupt ranks.
Can I do it? It is joining a few princes to birds...(they are on birds but still the rules don't seem to care about that).

User avatar
Todda
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
Posts: 7706
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:25 pm

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Todda » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:16 pm

Sorry. You technically can not even have the characters join together to make a unit of characters if they fly or are on monsters...
I made the move to professionally painting 3 years ago. I paint a good mix between speed and quality. This keeps prices low, like a typical 2K 40k army is under $500.

My painting services:https://www.facebook.com/toddabbottpainting

potato32
Gold Vault Member
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:28 pm

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by potato32 » Sat Sep 28, 2013 2:48 am

So... can I join chariots together or is that the same ruling?

exodusofman
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
Posts: 6174
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:05 pm
Ribbons Earned: RED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.Awarded the Awesome Medal of Awesomeness!

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by exodusofman » Sat Sep 28, 2013 6:25 am

Nope you can't have a character on chariot join a chariot unit or another chariot mounted character. Unless you're playing Tomb Kings
I fall into a dark hole
And I can't come out
Do you know if Merlin did exist
Or Frodo wore the ring
Did Corum kill the gods
Or where's the wonderland
Which young Alice had seen
Or was it just a dream
I knew the answers
Now they're lost for me

User avatar
Zero
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
Posts: 7740
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 4:41 am
Location: Wollongong, Australia

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Zero » Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:49 am

Virobrain wrote:How many points of army do I need to play a few beginner games?
About 750-1000 would be my starting point.
What matters creative endless toil
When, at a snatch, oblivion ends the coil?

My awesome blog of awesomeness.

User avatar
Lezleyboom
MiniWarGaming Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Lezleyboom » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:00 am

[EDIT: Answered in other thread]

CityOfKites
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:06 am

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by CityOfKites » Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:27 am

Three questions about spear chukkas (or bolt throwers, if you must)
- if you kill six guys (believe me, I've done this) does the strength say at 1 or down to zero? i.e. can you kill another?

- suppose you penetrate to the back rank but there's only one guy there. (for example, suppose the unit has two ranks of five, and then one guy alone in the third rank) - would you automatically hit him or would you randomise it?

- can you kill multiple Skirmishers there, since the rulebook kinda says they don't have ranks?
EDIT: errate says skirmishes only have zero ranks for close combat purposes, so that answers question three I guess

User avatar
Lezleyboom
MiniWarGaming Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Lezleyboom » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:30 am

Does a single character (ie, lord/hero) count as a 'unit'?

Specifically with regards to rules regarding 'panic' and whether a unit within 6" of a killed character need to take a panic test?

User avatar
Arnathos
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4681
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:08 pm
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesHas Completed 25 Painting PledgesHas Completed 50 Painting PledgesHas Completed 100 Painting Pledges!Won a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryPlaced First with a 'Mini of the Month' EntryCompleted a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Location: Oulu, Finland.

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Arnathos » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:43 am

A character on his own is treated as a unit consisting of a single model, just like a giant or most chariots. But yeah, if he/she/it gets their head blown off or stepped on, other units within 6" take a panic test.
Time will tell... Sooner or later... Time will tell.
WH40k:
IG 5000pts[95% Painted]
Word Bearers 10000pts[89% Painted]
WHFB:
Empire 5000pts[95% Painted]

FYI, I'm Dutch, not Finnish, I just live there.

User avatar
Lezleyboom
MiniWarGaming Beginner
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Lezleyboom » Fri Nov 29, 2013 6:50 am

Thanks

CityOfKites
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 6:06 am

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by CityOfKites » Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:56 am

if a unit is stubborn thanks to there being a stubborn character in there, and he declines a challenge and goes to the back, is the unit still stubborn?

since you lose leadership/BSB bonuses if this happens, seems to me you ought to lose stubbornness too...

User avatar
Arnathos
MiniWarGaming Grand Marshall
Posts: 4681
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:08 pm
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesHas Completed 25 Painting PledgesHas Completed 50 Painting PledgesHas Completed 100 Painting Pledges!Won a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventTook part in a Painting Deathmatch Headline EventWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge EntryPlaced First with a 'Mini of the Month' EntryCompleted a 'Mini of the Month' Entry
Location: Oulu, Finland.

Re: Fantasy Q & A

Post by Arnathos » Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:22 pm

Should, yes. Does, no.

BRB page 76:

"If a Stubborn character joins a unit, that unit is Stubborn whilst he remains amongst its ranks."


Nothing in the challenge rules state otherwise. So silly as it might be, the unit is stubborn even if the character is sent to the back rank.
Time will tell... Sooner or later... Time will tell.
WH40k:
IG 5000pts[95% Painted]
Word Bearers 10000pts[89% Painted]
WHFB:
Empire 5000pts[95% Painted]

FYI, I'm Dutch, not Finnish, I just live there.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest