It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 360 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 24  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:38 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:14 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Victoria, BC
khani wrote:
they mean something to me, its just that i'd rather spend my money on actual minis because reading can about minis can get quite bland after the ten minutes of inspiration goes away, while with painiting its fun and awesome. i love moddeling all those different parts on mini lastics. so i would rather buy 2 units of skeletons then the rulebook.
... :mrgreen:


Someone will probably lend you one at least if you go down and interact as a new player down at your local game shop. If there are some people down their playing a game check it out. Maybe if the guys are nice enough if you ask they may explain what they are doing at parts in the game.

Rulebook trumps all though, even if your forced to buy a paperback one it won't set you back money wise that far. If you can't acquire one to have/borrow for free look online within your area as your probably bound to find one.

You can proxy models playing a game but you can't proxy 100 or so pages of Rules.

_________________
Skaven 3000 Points 25% Painted
Necrons 2000 Points 100% Painted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:14 am 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:05 pm
Posts: 6434
Ribbons Earned: RED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.Awarded the Awesome Medal of Awesomeness!
if you just want the book then go on ebay and buy the pocket sized one

_________________
I fall into a dark hole
And I can't come out
Do you know if Merlin did exist
Or Frodo wore the ring
Did Corum kill the gods
Or where's the wonderland
Which young Alice had seen
Or was it just a dream
I knew the answers
Now they're lost for me


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:42 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:15 pm
Posts: 253
Lord Kroak only knows deliverance of itza right?

and can he take any of the extra powera a normal slann can? (extra dice, removed al 6's froman enemy wizard, and immune to anything but magic)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:51 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:58 pm
Posts: 1899
Location: melbourne australia
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 1 Terrain Group Build entryHas Completed 5 Painting Pledges
i am going to games workshop for about 4 hours in a few days so i might read a bit of the rulebook and have a few players help me out, they are really nice at my games workshop, except one guy...
... :mrgreen:

_________________
Khani is more OT family then Shas! There I said it! -IGfanatic

Khani I have to admit, you're awesome -wulfrun

In the grim darkness of the near future there is only.... Khani? -the airman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:34 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:14 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Victoria, BC
How many dispel scrolls can you take into a game? Is it one per Mage or can you stack until you run out of magic points?

I've only ever seen someone take 1 but was just curious.

_________________
Skaven 3000 Points 25% Painted
Necrons 2000 Points 100% Painted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:14 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:17 am
Posts: 792
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 1 Terrain Group Build entryWon a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge
Unless otherwise mentioned, you cannot take multiples of same magic items in the same army. As the dispel scroll is a magic item, you can only take it once.

_________________
Rank & Fail

"Tuomir, you're made of win" -ranger
"Tumor is just plain retarted. Tuomir is cooler than that" -jackmrnorris94
"Tuomir has proven his brilliance in this scenario" -The Airman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 4:23 pm 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:56 pm
Posts: 5571
Location: Edmonton
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesHas Completed 25 Painting PledgesCompleted a 'Mini of the Month' EntryWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Raide wrote:
Lord Kroak only knows deliverance of itza right?

and can he take any of the extra powera a normal slann can? (extra dice, removed al 6's froman enemy wizard, and immune to anything but magic)?

Yes, he only knows the one spell.
And no, you cannot give him disciplines or upgrade him in any way.

Here's my question: with the new wording for Steed of Shadows (ie. it no longer says that if affects models on foot only), will it affect a mounted character?
Example: I cast it on my Skink Priest on an Engine of the Gods. Can I now fly the entire EOTG 12" away?

_________________
By the seal of Chogoris and the will of Master Kyublai, Great Khan of the White Scars Space Marines.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 5:35 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:17 am
Posts: 792
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 1 Terrain Group Build entryWon a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge
You mean 10"? Anyways, yes, the wizard owns a horse. Trolling aside, as you cannot detach the wizard from his mount, he can't move if the mount (or some more exotic creature, as it may be) does not. Therefore, the whole model moves.

By the way, this spell would be fun to cast at an allied screaming bell :twisted: ... Of course, you would be sabotaging your allies, but hey, the skaven might betray you anyways...

_________________
Rank & Fail

"Tuomir, you're made of win" -ranger
"Tumor is just plain retarted. Tuomir is cooler than that" -jackmrnorris94
"Tuomir has proven his brilliance in this scenario" -The Airman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:16 am
Posts: 2476
Location: Tennessee
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting PledgesHas Completed 10 Painting PledgesWon a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
Ok, here's a question. While equipping my VC heroes I noticed that there isn't a model that exactly matches the gear I want to equip them with.

How far does WYSIWYG go with these kinds of issues in fantasy?

Noc

_________________
Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right. -Isaac Asimov
I bow down, Nocturus. --Aloh'Kais
Tau 6th Ed. W-0 D-0 L-3
Tau w/ Eldar Allies W-3 D-1 L-3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 7:17 pm 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:25 pm
Posts: 7395
GW sponsored Tournaments are the only thing you need to worry about and even then it is up to the local store how picky they are going to be. Most do not require a perfect match. A cheap way to get around this is to cut items out of tag board and stick it on with Elmer's Glue. It is a conversion... which is legal. It is based on a GW model and a majority is GW model parts. Most GW tournaments do not require painted models anyways and WYSIWYG is just so there is no confusion on what your equipment is. Then after the battle you pop the Elmer's Glue right off. They only require things like mounts, weapons, and armor to be WYSIWYG and do not require things like potions, scrolls, talismans... to be modeled in.

The only other thing they are sticklers about at GW tournaments is fully assembled. Bring glue as you will break things transporting and playing.

Some like Adepticon do require 3 colors minimum and a finished base, but people will cheat and put 3 different colored dots on each model.

_________________
Skaven 10,000 Warriors of Chaos 4,000 Lizardmen 2,500 Vampire Counts 2,500 Eldar 7,000 Necron 5,500
Chaos Daemons 3,000 Dark Angels 2,000 Chaos Space Marines 3,000 High Elves 6,000 Cryx 76+2
------>My painting services: Hero-Painting


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:38 pm 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Zealot

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 3:14 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Victoria, BC
I feel I may be playing this wrong thus far so I want to check some info on Flank and Rear charges..

First off if you flank charge you can attack with two ranks as normal but the defender loses his rank bonus in combat res. + can only attack with one rank right?

Secondly what differs between a rear and flank charge other then the +2 instead of +1 to combat res.?

Page 21 in the rule book only explains flank in rear charges from a how to identify standpoint, not what effect they have in combat.

_________________
Skaven 3000 Points 25% Painted
Necrons 2000 Points 100% Painted


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:52 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:17 pm
Posts: 1708
Location: UK Minehead
Bryden wrote:
I feel I may be playing this wrong thus far so I want to check some info on Flank and Rear charges..

First off if you flank charge you can attack with two ranks as normal but the defender loses his rank bonus in combat res. + can only attack with one rank right?

Secondly what differs between a rear and flank charge other then the +2 instead of +1 to combat res.?

Page 21 in the rule book only explains flank in rear charges from a how to identify standpoint, not what effect they have in combat.


flank charges gain a +1 combat resolution bonus and rear charges gain a +2 combat resolution bonus

in flank and rear charges, im not sure if the person that has been charged can attack in multiple ranks, i think he can only do that when attacking the unit that charged his front

is that any help

_________________
yes sir! i can boogie!

My WIP http://www.miniwargaming.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=70250


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:25 am 
Offline
Lives, breathes, and eats MiniWarGaming
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 5:46 pm
Posts: 1950
Ribbons Earned: Won a Painting Deathmatch Side ChallengeCompleted a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge Entry
A few questions for you all.

1. When adding characters to a unit, such as Mages and Lords, some players put them in the front, and some players put them in the rear. Where should you typically put your characters & heroes in a ranked up unit? I keep reading things like “Get that caster in your back row!” on Youtube batreps, so I assume that you should move them to the back. And yet I’ve seen many players make that same mistake (assuming it is a mistake). But if your heroes/lord is in the back rank, can he still attack?

2. I understand that deployment is up to the player to decide, but 90% of the deployment in Fantasy from what I see looks like this. Large bricks of ranked up core choices in the center of your deployment zone, maybe with a hero in them. A few ranked up expensive Special infantry behind or adjacent to the Core bricks to help and escort them, typically with a mage in the Special ranked up unit. Warmachines placed behind the infantry, roughly in the center or deployment zone. And then Rare units and Cavalry on the flanks of the board running up and down the sides.

Is that basically deployment for 90% of Fantasy games? Are there ever games where ranked up Core choices may be positioned on the flanks? Or the entire army castles up in one corner of the board? It just looks a little redundant to me.

_________________
Space Marines excel at warfare because they were designed to excel at everything.

-Primarch Roboute Guilliman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 9:28 am 
Offline
MiniWarGaming Crazed Zealot
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:17 am
Posts: 792
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 1 Terrain Group Build entryWon a Painting Deathmatch Side Challenge
Rocketsauce wrote:
A few questions for you all.

1. When adding characters to a unit, such as Mages and Lords, some players put them in the front, and some players put them in the rear. Where should you typically put your characters & heroes in a ranked up unit? I keep reading things like “Get that caster in your back row!” on Youtube batreps, so I assume that you should move them to the back. And yet I’ve seen many players make that same mistake (assuming it is a mistake). But if your heroes/lord is in the back rank, can he still attack?

2. I understand that deployment is up to the player to decide, but 90% of the deployment in Fantasy from what I see looks like this. Large bricks of ranked up core choices in the center of your deployment zone, maybe with a hero in them. A few ranked up expensive Special infantry behind or adjacent to the Core bricks to help and escort them, typically with a mage in the Special ranked up unit. Warmachines placed behind the infantry, roughly in the center or deployment zone. And then Rare units and Cavalry on the flanks of the board running up and down the sides.

Is that basically deployment for 90% of Fantasy games? Are there ever games where ranked up Core choices may be positioned on the flanks? Or the entire army castles up in one corner of the board? It just looks a little redundant to me.


For the question number 1, you must place all characters in the front rank if possible. To put them elsewhere is cheating. The only exception is when your character refuses a challenge, it must be placed so in the unit that cannot make attacks (in to the back row, for example).

For number two, I can't really help as I have mostly played really small games, all against the same guy.

_________________
Rank & Fail

"Tuomir, you're made of win" -ranger
"Tumor is just plain retarted. Tuomir is cooler than that" -jackmrnorris94
"Tuomir has proven his brilliance in this scenario" -The Airman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fantasy Q & A
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline
Epic MiniWarGaming Poster, 'nuff said

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:05 pm
Posts: 6434
Ribbons Earned: RED FLAG: Failed to complete a Challenge.Awarded the Awesome Medal of Awesomeness!
Rocketsauce wrote:
A few questions for you all.

1. When adding characters to a unit, such as Mages and Lords, some players put them in the front, and some players put them in the rear. Where should you typically put your characters & heroes in a ranked up unit? I keep reading things like “Get that caster in your back row!” on Youtube batreps, so I assume that you should move them to the back. And yet I’ve seen many players make that same mistake (assuming it is a mistake). But if your heroes/lord is in the back rank, can he still attack?
characters must go in the front rank. what your seeing ppl do is put them 1 inch behind the unit so they are not part of it but still have to hitmodifiers and a 4+ lookout sir
2. I understand that deployment is up to the player to decide, but 90% of the deployment in Fantasy from what I see looks like this. Large bricks of ranked up core choices in the center of your deployment zone, maybe with a hero in them. A few ranked up expensive Special infantry behind or adjacent to the Core bricks to help and escort them, typically with a mage in the Special ranked up unit. Warmachines placed behind the infantry, roughly in the center or deployment zone. And then Rare units and Cavalry on the flanks of the board running up and down the sides.

Is that basically deployment for 90% of Fantasy games? Are there ever games where ranked up Core choices may be positioned on the flanks? Or the entire army castles up in one corner of the board? It just looks a little redundant to me.you deploy how ever you want there is no set style of deployment at all

_________________
I fall into a dark hole
And I can't come out
Do you know if Merlin did exist
Or Frodo wore the ring
Did Corum kill the gods
Or where's the wonderland
Which young Alice had seen
Or was it just a dream
I knew the answers
Now they're lost for me


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 360 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 24  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group