Vampire Counts army question

Discuss all you want about the Warhammer game that started it all...
ggLazorGator
MiniWarGaming Beginner

Vampire Counts army question

Post by ggLazorGator » Wed Jan 06, 2016 4:37 pm

So, I'm new to mini war gaming and I have recently started painting my 40K minis, but my brother in law and I want to get started on playing the Age of Sigmar fantasy game. I'm really attracted to the Vampire Counts (they don't know how I feel yet...I'm not at that stage of commitment) but I don't know where to start. I guess since I'm used to 40K, and seeing Marines go with Marines, and Necrons with Necrons and whatnot, I guess I'm confused at seeing the Vampire Counts...and zombies? So I'm not sure where to start. So, my question for this community is...where do I start with a Vampire army? What kind of advantages do they have for a fairly glass cannon style player such as myself, and what units would have certain advantages over another in the army? I know it's a broad question, but I'm not sure where to start with AoS. Any information is helpful, and suggestions are more than welcome!

Zipding
MiniWarGaming Veteran
Ribbons Earned: Has Completed 5 Painting Pledges
Location: Hovering behind your left shoulder, invisibly, of course

Re: Vampire Counts army question

Post by Zipding » Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:18 pm

Just a heads up, everything I'm going to say is with regards to Fantasy 8th edition (I haven't played AoS, nor do I have any desire to play AoS)

The Vampire Counts army is named after their leaders, who raise the zombies and skeletons to do their bidding.

Vampire Counts are not a glass cannon type army. The way they win is through attrition, you may wipe out 3/4 of their giant Grave Guard bus, but they'll just summon that back and continue beating you with an ax.