Review: 'Eavy Metal Brush Set


Leave feedback, comments or questions for this review on my blog:
http://itslikewatchingpaintdry.blogspot.com/2011/11/eavy-metal-brush-set-review.html

Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments   Other Episodes From Painting with Paul   Share  
GENMAJcamouflage (Over a year ago): - delete
i only have two words for this stuff (and other paint stuff from GW revell and humbroll
(models are great just bring back the tin models )
elmafudd2 (Over a year ago): - delete
Just another GW pile of rubbish. You can see they're getting very gittery over the competition out there!!!! I just love the way that one of the bottles had a leak and the 'booklet' got ripped! First 'fine'cast - then liquid green stuff because of the sheer crap from 'fine'cast, now dodgy 'eavy metal! What's next for good people to spend huge amounts of money on?!?!?!
Kenton (Over a year ago): - delete
Thats all? 35$ for a little book and 2 brushes? i thing is not worthy
Jurrian (Over a year ago): - delete
LOOOL!!! I don't know how much that cost you but that was idiotic. Another stupid GW product just like the 'mixing pot' or the 'wet palette'. Quite a fail.

Don't get intimidated because it comes from 'THE 'EAVY METAL' dudes, because it's still the same stuff you get when you buy a brush and matte varnish. Only thing useful is the tin. Good for moving your brushes to other locations and the booklet... well it's quite nice but you can find everything you need to know about them + pictures on internet.
emmceeandrew (Over a year ago): - delete
The only thing that looks any good is the tin, it's certainly not worth the money unfortunately :/
DaemonMaster (Over a year ago): - delete
i got my brushes in a 8 pack for $2 at a big box store (that shall not be named for fear of legal action) and ive done a 3000 point army and they seem too be good enough to keep going.
darkmessiah (Over a year ago): - delete
uter over priced crap gw is so overpriced
zombiesrcool (Over a year ago): - delete
these are massively overpriced even more than winsor newtons and of course raphiel which are my personal preference of brush and are widely recognised as some of the best in the industry. really I think this is just a gimmick with the eavy metal logo on it. besides even if the brushes are epic it is still a limited edition thing and you have to get all of the other junk (the tin medium etc.) with it
ptgraham (Over a year ago): - delete
@tmkerr: Its actually a bag of push pins. The flock is beside the house on my desk.
Cow (Over a year ago): - delete
@tmkerr: Thats how you store your weed dude, in a container clearly and carefully marked "flock" that way its not as noticable. Hahaha

But seriously it really seems like this set is for people who think that if it has the "'EAVY METAL" or like "Citidel" logo on it it will make beautiful models. $60 for 2 brushes and some other goodies? I guess if you are more into painting than I am it is worth it though.
Warpaintguy (Over a year ago): - delete
Thanks Paul. I know know for sure I will never buy this product or put it on my wishlist for xmas. I thought the booklet might be fun to have and the brushes and flow aid where a nice extra but now I see the booklet is ***** and the brushes and flow aid I can get for a third of the price. The tin I will never use because I only paint at home and keep my brushes upside down in an old cup.

Thanks , you saved me some money!!

Cheers,
Seb
Nagi21 (Over a year ago): - delete
Too much for stuff readily available cheaper...
tmkerr (Over a year ago): - delete
I don't understand. I thought their regular brushes were made of Kolinsky sable?

Most of the top painters in the world use Raphael or Windsor and Newton 7 brushes. You can get those for less then half the price of these. I don't care how good they are, this is a complete rip.

BTW, I'm sure its flock, but it looks like you have a bag of weed stuck to your wall
How to Paint and Ork Mek How to Paint and Ork Mek
by ptgraham | not rated
A painting tutorial for the plastic Ork Mek by Paul
How to Paint Officio Perfectus Commisar How to Paint Officio Perfectus Commisar
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how to paint up the plastic Commissar model for Imperial Guard.
Stormwolf Assembly Stormwolf Assembly
by ptgraham | not rated
An assembly tutorial where Paul shows how the new Space Wolf flyer goes together.
Spacewolf Stormwolf unboxing Spacewolf Stormwolf unboxing
by ptgraham | not rated
An unboxing video for the new Spacewolf flyer.
How to Paint Swordmastersj How to Paint Swordmastersj
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
A painting video where Paul shows how to paint High Elf Swordmasters.
Ork Datacards review Ork Datacards review
by ptgraham | not rated
A quick look at the new Datacards that came out with the Ork release.
Ork Mek Gunz Conversion Ork Mek Gunz Conversion
by ptgraham | rated 4.5/5.0
A tutorial where I show how to kitbash/convert the Ork Trukk into 3 Mek Gunz.
Ork Meganobz Unboxing Ork Meganobz Unboxing
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
A tutorial where Paul shows the contents of the new Ork Meganobz box.

View more episodes from Painting with Paul

Live Show In Progress
Live Show In Progress
Click here to tune in

Clearance Item
About this Content
ptgraham's Avatar Author: ptgraham
Added: November 19, 2011
Views: 4,365
Rated: 12345 (7)

A review of the limited release 'Eavy Metal brush set.

Found in:
More From...
How to Paint and Ork Mek How to Paint and Ork Mek
by ptgraham | 108 views
A painting tutorial for the plastic Ork Mek by Paul
How to Paint Officio Perfectus Commisar How to Paint Officio Perfectus Commisar
by ptgraham | 207 views
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how to paint up the plastic Commissar model for Imperial Guard.
Stormwolf Assembly Stormwolf Assembly
by ptgraham | 128 views
An assembly tutorial where Paul shows how the new Space Wolf flyer goes together.
Spacewolf Stormwolf unboxing Spacewolf Stormwolf unboxing
by ptgraham | 141 views
An unboxing video for the new Spacewolf flyer.
How to Paint Swordmastersj How to Paint Swordmastersj
by ptgraham | 390 views
A painting video where Paul shows how to paint High Elf Swordmasters.

Affiliate Program | Partner Program | Painting Partner Program | Contact Us | Legal Stuff | Job and Volunteer Opportunities