Review: 'Eavy Metal Brush Set


Leave feedback, comments or questions for this review on my blog:
http://itslikewatchingpaintdry.blogspot.com/2011/11/eavy-metal-brush-set-review.html

Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments   Other Episodes From Painting with Paul   Share  
GENMAJcamouflage (Over a year ago): - delete
i only have two words for this stuff (and other paint stuff from GW revell and humbroll
(models are great just bring back the tin models )
elmafudd2 (Over a year ago): - delete
Just another GW pile of rubbish. You can see they're getting very gittery over the competition out there!!!! I just love the way that one of the bottles had a leak and the 'booklet' got ripped! First 'fine'cast - then liquid green stuff because of the sheer crap from 'fine'cast, now dodgy 'eavy metal! What's next for good people to spend huge amounts of money on?!?!?!
Kenton (Over a year ago): - delete
Thats all? 35$ for a little book and 2 brushes? i thing is not worthy
Jurrian (Over a year ago): - delete
LOOOL!!! I don't know how much that cost you but that was idiotic. Another stupid GW product just like the 'mixing pot' or the 'wet palette'. Quite a fail.

Don't get intimidated because it comes from 'THE 'EAVY METAL' dudes, because it's still the same stuff you get when you buy a brush and matte varnish. Only thing useful is the tin. Good for moving your brushes to other locations and the booklet... well it's quite nice but you can find everything you need to know about them + pictures on internet.
emmceeandrew (Over a year ago): - delete
The only thing that looks any good is the tin, it's certainly not worth the money unfortunately :/
DaemonMaster (Over a year ago): - delete
i got my brushes in a 8 pack for $2 at a big box store (that shall not be named for fear of legal action) and ive done a 3000 point army and they seem too be good enough to keep going.
darkmessiah (Over a year ago): - delete
uter over priced crap gw is so overpriced
zombiesrcool (Over a year ago): - delete
these are massively overpriced even more than winsor newtons and of course raphiel which are my personal preference of brush and are widely recognised as some of the best in the industry. really I think this is just a gimmick with the eavy metal logo on it. besides even if the brushes are epic it is still a limited edition thing and you have to get all of the other junk (the tin medium etc.) with it
ptgraham (Over a year ago): - delete
@tmkerr: Its actually a bag of push pins. The flock is beside the house on my desk.
Cow (Over a year ago): - delete
@tmkerr: Thats how you store your weed dude, in a container clearly and carefully marked "flock" that way its not as noticable. Hahaha

But seriously it really seems like this set is for people who think that if it has the "'EAVY METAL" or like "Citidel" logo on it it will make beautiful models. $60 for 2 brushes and some other goodies? I guess if you are more into painting than I am it is worth it though.
Warpaintguy (Over a year ago): - delete
Thanks Paul. I know know for sure I will never buy this product or put it on my wishlist for xmas. I thought the booklet might be fun to have and the brushes and flow aid where a nice extra but now I see the booklet is ***** and the brushes and flow aid I can get for a third of the price. The tin I will never use because I only paint at home and keep my brushes upside down in an old cup.

Thanks , you saved me some money!!

Cheers,
Seb
Nagi21 (Over a year ago): - delete
Too much for stuff readily available cheaper...
tmkerr (Over a year ago): - delete
I don't understand. I thought their regular brushes were made of Kolinsky sable?

Most of the top painters in the world use Raphael or Windsor and Newton 7 brushes. You can get those for less then half the price of these. I don't care how good they are, this is a complete rip.

BTW, I'm sure its flock, but it looks like you have a bag of weed stuck to your wall
How to Paint Callidus Assassin How to Paint Callidus Assassin
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
The 4th assassin is done, and Paul shows how to paint it.
Celexus Assassin Tutorial Celexus Assassin Tutorial
by ptgraham | rated 3.5/5.0
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how he painted up an Celexus Assassin from the Assassinorum box.
How to Paint an Eversor Assassin How to Paint an Eversor Assassin
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how he painted up an Eversor Assassin from the Assassinorum box.
How to paint a Vindicare Assassin How to paint a Vindicare Assassin
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
A painting tutorial for the new Vindicare Assassin from the Assassinorum box set.
Assassinorium Assembly video Assassinorium Assembly video
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
An assembly video where Paul shows how the 4 assassins from the box set go together.
Unboxing: Assassinorum Unboxing: Assassinorum
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
An unboxing video to see what's included in the new Assassin box game.
How to Paint Eldar Farseer for Craftworld Telennar How to Paint Eldar Farseer for Craftworld Telennar
by ptgraham | rated 5.0/5.0
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how to paint an Eldar Farseer of Craftworld Telennar.
How to Paint Saim-Hann Eldar How to Paint Saim-Hann Eldar
by ptgraham | not rated
A tutorial where Paul shows how to paint basic Saim-Hann Eldar colours on a guardian.

View more episodes from Painting with Paul

About this Content
ptgraham's Avatar Author: ptgraham
Added: November 19, 2011
Views: 4,561
Rated: 12345 (7)

A review of the limited release 'Eavy Metal brush set.

Found in:
More From...
How to Paint Callidus Assassin How to Paint Callidus Assassin
by ptgraham | 185 views
The 4th assassin is done, and Paul shows how to paint it.
Celexus Assassin Tutorial Celexus Assassin Tutorial
by ptgraham | 298 views
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how he painted up an Celexus Assassin from the Assassinorum box.
How to Paint an Eversor Assassin How to Paint an Eversor Assassin
by ptgraham | 269 views
A painting tutorial where Paul shows how he painted up an Eversor Assassin from the Assassinorum box.
How to paint a Vindicare Assassin How to paint a Vindicare Assassin
by ptgraham | 554 views
A painting tutorial for the new Vindicare Assassin from the Assassinorum box set.
Assassinorium Assembly video Assassinorium Assembly video
by ptgraham | 389 views
An assembly video where Paul shows how the 4 assassins from the box set go together.