145 Citadel Paints - Review

Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments   Share  

Top Comments

DaPMan (Over a year ago): - delete
I agree in some places with buypainted. The conversion chart is somewhat useless, now my thousand sons sorcerer looks more like an ultramarine! Well, good thing my local independant retailer has ALL the old range still in stock, cheaper too, guess I'll just go there, & use PVA and sand instead of the awful texture stuff! :o
+4
pakman (Over a year ago): - delete
Thank you very much.
Time to invest in more vallejo paints.
+2
icki (Over a year ago): - delete
I think you've misunderstood part of of the structure of the new paint range.

Before, we know that there were Foundation, Washes and standard paints. The Foundations and standard paints had 65 colours between them. You say that there are now only 35, but there are now 35 Base paints, (Replacing/Expanding the Foundation range), and 70 Layer paints, (Replacing/Expanding the standard paint range).

So when we look at the Layer range, there are actually plenty of greys, sands and pink/purple colours for example. This is where it sounded like you were looking at the 35 Base paints when you mentioned the lack of paints and a reduction in the size of the range.

Having said that, you did still mention the problem in that the Layer paints have poorer coverage and can't be used like the old paints could be. It would have been far more sensible to simply expand the current range rather than replace it completely.
+2

Other Comments

bleekeboy (Over a year ago): - delete
Love your accent its is not annoying like some other guys and you good to lising at,and very clear
WaaaghPainterAndrew (Over a year ago): - delete
why did GW make dry paints, only a complete noob painter doesn't know how to drybrush using normal paint
WaaaghPainterAndrew (Over a year ago): - delete
Many of the things said in this review are extremely true and i think ill miss the old paint range, Why the hell did they rename all the paints?, the new range was made for making more money not being practical for the hobbiest like the old range was.
casper668 (Over a year ago): - delete
Danke schone fur die video!
Entchuldegung! Meine deutsche ist nicht zu gut! The video was very infomative about the new Citadel paints. I like to use white a lot for my Necrons and the Skull White they used to make i couldn't find on the shelf at my local store.
reddragon162 (Over a year ago): - delete
Thank you so much for making this video, it really helps me see just what GW has done with their paint range. I'm interested in the expanded wash line (or whatever they;re calling it now) as well as the glazes. I might be interested in the technical range as well, but nothing else. I think I'll be switching over to Reaper or something from now on.
dmanella (Over a year ago): - delete
Great review, thorough.
Always love your vids.
KhorneBezerker250 (Over a year ago): - delete
I also helped my nearest GW's manager to set up the new paint and felt overwhelmed with the amount of new paint. GW went over board will all the midtones, I don't understand why adding a little white, or black, to the mix is hard. The GW manager agrees with me on this and also with everything on my below comment.
KhorneBezerker250 (Over a year ago): - delete
I also agree the conversion paint chart is useless. I will most likely start to find a suitable new paint line. The textures are terrible in my opinion and was upset when trying these when GW put out the paint preview tables in the stores, i alos dont see the point it is expensive and takes a while for it to dry and takes less time to just use glue and sand.The dry paints are for people how don't know how to dry brush, which is one of the easiest techniques to learn. I can keep on my rant but won't. Overall the new paint line has upset me and i'm sure it has upset lot of people like me.
Gruby (Over a year ago): - delete
Mortimer, dodawaj te%u017C czasem na youtubie jakie%u015B filmy z cytadeli.
Fionnvar (Over a year ago): - delete
helpful review, thanks.
Harlequin78 (Over a year ago): - delete
Buypaintaid is from Poland if I'm not mistaken BewareOfTom, as for the new paint range I will have to disagree with you.
To me the whole system seems a bit restrictive and too structured in a paint by numbers way. I use citadel and Vallejo to paint as well as acrylics from Windsor and newton so I will work with anything but a lot of this new range seems geared towards a very specific use (paint GW models to look like in the box art and ONLY that way).
Ofc any paint can and is useful for specific things I just don't see myself using this as my primary range of colors.
-Tyranidmaster27- (Over a year ago): - delete
Hmm...Those texture paints look REALLY good when they are finnished, drybrushed and all, but looking in the new white dwarf it actually takes 5 or 6 different paints to make a bloodletter look like a bloodletter-and thats just for the skin. Its just a way for games workshop to get more money-make more paints, make em' rubbish and then you got $$$
BewareOfTom (Over a year ago): - delete
where are you from? accent sounds russian-esque...

also great video, but I think that the new paint range will kinda hurt in the beginning but people will grow to get used to it, maybe even love it... Im happy for a white foundation and a brush on primer myself
BuyPainted (Over a year ago): - delete
this is a reason that I've told that a conversion chart is useless
Gorefangz (Over a year ago): - delete
it looks like ultramarines blue is the same as macragge, not mordian blue.
+1
Clearance Item
80% Off

Rat Fur Primer
Rat Fur Primere
See details

Market price: CA$16.99
Our price: CA$3.40 (US$3.09)

Click here to see all Clearance items

Disable Ads
About this Content
BuyPainted's Avatar Author: BuyPainted
Added: April 7, 2012
Views: 3,572
Rated: 12345 (8)

Review of the new Citadel Paints

Found in:
More From...
How to make the lamps of vehicles How to make the lamps of vehicles
by BuyPainted | 445 views
Tutorial on how to make realistic lamps.
How to magnetize Razorback / Rhino How to magnetize Razorback / Rhino
by BuyPainted | 335 views
Tutorial on how to magnetize a razorback or rhino model.
How to paint a Frostheart Phoenix? How to paint a Frostheart Phoenix?
by BuyPainted | 931 views
Tutorial on how to paint a Frostheart Phoenix for High Elves army from Warhammer Fantasy Battle universe.
How to paint a Flamespyre Phoenix? How to paint a Flamespyre Phoenix?
by BuyPainted | 593 views
Tutorial on how to paint a Flamespyre Phoenix for High Elves army from Warhammer Fantasy Battle universe.
How to paint Greater Daemon of Slaanesh? How to paint Greater Daemon of Slaanesh?
by BuyPainted | 613 views
Tutorial on how to paint greater Daemon of Slaanesh from Forge World

Affiliate Program | Partner Program | Painting Partner Program | Contact Us | Legal Stuff | Job and Volunteer Opportunities