40k Chaos Troops Choice Review: Cultists and Chaos Marines

DownloadDownload (Vault Members Only)
 40k Chaos Troops Choice Review: Chosen, Khorne Berserkers & Thousand Sons 40k Chaos Troops Choice Review: Plague Marines & Noise Marines

Make sure you subscribe for more videos:
http://youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=miniwargaming

And follow us on Twitter:
http://www.twitter.com/miniwargaming

And check out our Facebook page:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/MiniWarGaming/306311862321

Log in above or Register Now to be able to post a comment and rate this content.

  Comments: 1 to 25 of 51   Other Episodes From Tactica   Share  

Top Comments

Gatha (Over a year ago): - delete
Just an fyi, you dive into liquid and delve into solids. Not sure what you do with gases.
+4
B4rberblacksheep (Over a year ago): - delete
Does Dave just get his sister to paint all of his models?
+3
Thayvian1 (Over a year ago): - delete
Dave. Is your baby sister painting you models now?
+2
Drayton (Over a year ago): - delete
If you being the cultist you are going to need something holding them from running after 1 round of combat. If you don't 5 assault marines will charge them, win the combat, you will fail your Ld test on a 7 (champion being dead from challenge).
+2
Twistedphoenix (Over a year ago): - delete
You seem to have glossed over the fact that Chaos Space Marines can also choose to replace their Boltguns with Close combat weapons for free! Giving you the choice for 13pt Close Combat Marines or Bolter Marines. CHOICES!
+2

Other Comments

GrukkitDaSmasha (Over a year ago): - delete
Remake some of the old tactics wight the codex
Magro (Over a year ago): - delete
Several cultist hoards will not even have enough space on the board to attack in close combat?

I'd love to try only cultists & heavy support like tanks, fliers and such masses of clos combat fodder/meat wall/people manning walls or defences and then the mean machines from a distance. Plus some hero/hard tough individual (like a deamon)


Ploop12 (Over a year ago): - delete
Also for gods sakes you idiots you cant get icon with cultists!
+1
Ploop12 (Over a year ago): - delete
Honestly in a 1750 battle I would take six groups of 35 at 750 pts all up and typhus. Thats 175 fnp models for 980 pts. I would then take three groups of five havocs with missile launchers with flakk missiles (if the army could field fliers) for 585 pts (with flakk missiles and 1 lascannon) or 450 pts (without flakk missiles) and depending on how many points i had left i would spend the rest on a heldrake (if i could) and/or bikers or spawn. seems like a solid list to me!
Ploop12 (Over a year ago): - delete
50 (25X4)= 150 is that 2 second maths that hard?
FleshprisonXVII (Over a year ago): - delete
does your whole family help you out with the shop? AND PLAY TOO?!?!
chaosoverlord (Over a year ago): - delete
right chaos marines are better than the elite marines simly because they are limited to there basic wargear. i equip my marines with a rhino with destroyer blades unit has frag krak bolt pistols close combat weapons 1 flamer champion has a power fist and aura of dark glory and mark and icon of slannesh and veterans of the long war sorcerer has mark of slannesh with sensory overload primaris power
Groggymonkey42 (Over a year ago): - delete
I would do some crazy custom work to it though
Groggymonkey42 (Over a year ago): - delete
I really want a heldrake model
luish88 (Over a year ago): - delete
I gotta say this:
I absolutely looove my new codex. :oD
+1
UkeFox (Over a year ago): - delete
Suddenly Chaos is better at Tyranids than Tyranids.
Beavis002 (Over a year ago): - delete
so if i want to start a new chaos army and already have the new dark vengeance starter set what do you suggest i buy first to add to my army?
spedmutt92 (Over a year ago): - delete
YES SLAANESH was so happy when i heard my emperors children can have feel no pain
firedrake18 (Over a year ago): - delete
so if you give chaos space marines close combat weapons, does that mean you can shoot with bolter and then have 2 attacks base?
dhurkan (Over a year ago): - delete
Totally agree with the cultist idea!!! I want to run a horde of zombies with typhus
TauofMontKa (Over a year ago): - delete
Why not give Cultists Mark of Tzeentch? Half the points and they always have a 6 save, not much, but they'll always have it.
-1
WackyEels (Over a year ago): - delete
holy crap! cultists are amazing. With the allies rules id rather bring orks than Nurgle Cultists though.
ShunkBadman (Over a year ago): - delete
@kagesonofbaator: Cultists can't take Icons, only Marks.
TaikDaBrain (Over a year ago): - delete
cultists hordes are awesome. Good tarpets, good for slowing down or holding enemy units and a massive amount of attacks.
TaikDaBrain (Over a year ago): - delete
The good thing about the new mark system is that the other squad doesnt lose the mark if the icon bearer dies. He would be too easy in 6th edition.
Krenym (Over a year ago): - delete
I've had a few games with my vanilla black legion (no marks) running with a mastery lvl 3 sorceror using the biomancy disc. And i have to say it's pretty darn effective. Cultists are a real asset when used as a meat shield too.

Icon of vengeance is a must for csm though unless you stick a lord in the unit.

I think that a powerfist is now a bad call with the new challenge rules for chaos. Power sword and melta bombs come in at 5 points less, so in challenges atleast you will be striking at the same time (against most things) or first and have a chance at dealing some ap3 goodness instead of striking last and potentially being killed off before hitting anything. Meltabombs for pesky vehicles/walkers of course. I would still consider using powerfists on my plague champ though, being ini 3.

Great review dave! Looking forward to seeing the others
Niko19 (Over a year ago): - delete
Dave, only the Cultist Champion has 2 attacks, all the rest have 1
-3
Thayvian1 (Over a year ago): - delete
You need the furious charge icon in there to Dave .
kagesonofbaator (Over a year ago): - delete
Icon of vengeance will be good with cultist, your 35 fearless guys.
+1
lee6787 (Over a year ago): - delete
Man I plan on running as many cultist units as possible. And finally one can run cultists and not have to play Alpha Legion like in 4th
  Next Page
New Tau Tactica: HQ New Tau Tactica: HQ's and Elites
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Owen sits down again with the Tau Codex after having a few months to try it out he explains his thoughts of the HQ and Elite choices!
 Tau Tactica Pathfinders Tau Tactica Pathfinders
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.8/5.0
Here Owen goes over the iconic unit and weapon of the Tau army. Find out his thoughts and some basic tactics!
Beat This List Space Wolves Part 1/2 Beat This List Space Wolves Part 1/2
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Owen goes over the many questions left for him, and gives you some scenario tactics.
Ork Tactica: DakkaJet Ork Tactica: DakkaJet
by MiniWarGaming | rated 4.4/5.0
Flyers! Dan explains how these flying chunks of bits and bolts make a great addition to your army.
Orks Tactica: Blitza Bomma Orks Tactica: Blitza Bomma
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Da fastest Anti-tank wes got!
Make a List: Planetstrike vs Chaos Make a List: Planetstrike vs Chaos
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Owen has a game against chaos, hes attacking. Here's what he would bring!
Tau Tactica: Tau HQ Tau Tactica: Tau HQ's Part - 1/2
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Owen goes over the Tau HQ choices and his thoughts on them.
Tau Tactica: Build an Army Against Orks Part 1/3 Tau Tactica: Build an Army Against Orks Part 1/3
by MiniWarGaming | rated 5.0/5.0
Owen goes over his list as he plans a battle against Orks

View more episodes from Tactica

Clearance Item
70% Off

Stippling Brush
Stippling Brushe
See details

Market price: CA$4.50
Our price: CA$1.35 (US$1.23)

Click here to see all Clearance items

Disable Ads
About this Content
MiniWarGaming's Avatar Author: MiniWarGaming
Added: October 23, 2012
Views: 10,380
Rated: 12345 (10)

Dave dissects the playability of the garden variety chaos space marines as well as the new cultists. Watch Part 2 for Chosen, Khorne Berserkers and Thousand Sons. Part 3 for Plague Marines and Noise Marines.

Found in:
More From...
Chaos vs Necrons Warhammer 40k Battle Report - Banter Batrep Ep 55 Chaos vs Necrons Warhammer 40k Battle Report - Banter Batrep Ep 55
by MiniWarGaming | 1,383 views
Dave and Zach play a 1000 point Game of Chaos vs Necrons!
Blood Angels vs Dark Angels Warhammer 40k Battle Report - Banter Batrep 54 Blood Angels vs Dark Angels Warhammer 40k Battle Report - Banter Batrep 54
by MiniWarGaming | 2,598 views
Dave and Zach play a 1500 point game of 40k. Chaos Space Marines vs Dark Angels allied with Space Marines!
Quick Tip: Painting Slime Quick Tip: Painting Slime
by MiniWarGaming | 216 views
In this Quick Tip Kris shows us a couple of ways of painting slime on a model.
Cryx vs Mercs Warmachine Battle Report - Warmachine League Season 3 Ep 12 Cryx vs Mercs Warmachine Battle Report - Warmachine League Season 3 Ep 12
by MiniWarGaming | 628 views
Matt comes in with his Mercenaries, to challenge Joel and his Cryx Warmachine faction.
Trollbloods vs Menoth Warmachine Battle Report - Warmachine League Season 3 Ep 11 Trollbloods vs Menoth Warmachine Battle Report - Warmachine League Season 3 Ep 11
by MiniWarGaming | 1,186 views
Steve plays his first League Game against Owen and dual Judicators!

Affiliate Program | Partner Program | Painting Partner Program | Contact Us | Legal Stuff | Job and Volunteer Opportunities